Live as family helping with home and garden near Haywards Heath, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 523 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    73  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    PLEASE NOTE: I am only able to take ONE Workawayer at a time, usually for 7-10 days only, as there are not enough tasks for longer placements. Please do not ask me to host you for 'a month or two ', because I am not able to!

    PLEASE take the time to read my profile completely and also check my calendar tab before emailing me; both are updated regularly, but unfortunately many volunteers waste their time and mine by not doing so ...

    HELP welcome from June 2021 and as shown on my Calendar tab,
    Please note; we moved house very locally in April 2019 and will continue to host Workawayers with the same offer as before, we'll be developing a new garden with fruit, vegetables, herbs, shrubs and flowers.

    Helpers ideally are practical, flexible, independent and preferably with some knowledge of basic gardening .
    Since a serious road accident left me disabled 15 years ago, I have found it more difficult to keep up with the day to day chores in our home and garden. We grow our own vegetables organically and also have a fruit garden and flower borders. We keep a few chickens and have a friendly terrier bitch called Spice.

    My husband works full time locally and I still attend physical rehabilitation activities several mornings a week, so helpers would need to feel happy if left alone in a rural situation for a few hours and must be happy to help with their own initiative for some of the time. I mostly would love some help in the garden and with some projects around the house, I especially welcome those with an interest in gardening and I am happy to teach them more. You are unlikely to be asked to do anything that I have not previously done myself, but best if you are physically fit and active and not afraid of physical tasks on occasion- for example, digging part of the garden or emptying a compost bin.

    We have been hosts of exchanges for 33 years and so are used to welcoming people from other cultures into our home, we also have a number of craft and rural skills that we are happy to share with helpers.

    We hope that Workawayers will 'live as family' and share meal preparation or washing up in addition to their volunteer hours in the house or garden. We eat a lot of vegetarian meals using our home grown produce, but also eat meat
    ( usually wild or organic) ; I am happy to cater for special dietary needs if given adequate notice. We are happy to host smokers, as my husband smokes, but we do not allow any smoking in the house.
    We usually go to bed around 10pm and are fairly early risers, so prefer helpers who can 'get up and get going' before 9am on the days that they are helping.

    This is a beautiful area of the High Weald to explore in your free time, there are good woodland walks and cycle routes - we can loan volunteers a local map to help them explore the area.

    Please be aware that local public transport is poor and the nearest shops are 6 km away; nearest town and station (Haywards Heath or Horsham ) is 10-12 km, though we usually go into town at least once a week.
    Due to poor local public transport we are willing to collect helpers from our nearest train station (Haywards Heath or Horsham) or bus stop, by prior arrangement.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have hosted exchanges for 33 years and are happy to help with English conversation or teach volunteers new practical skills, eg taking cuttings of plants, making plant supports, making preserves etc.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Would love some varied help according to the season; planting , pruning , fruit picking, watering and weeding in the garden; occasional fencing or maintenance on sheds etc.. Anything from preserving to painting, furniture renovation or cleaning in our home!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Helpers will be accommodated in the spare room of our new home with use of household facilities 'as family'. We ask that helpers are considerate in keeping any noise to a minimum after 10pm as Pete has to get up early to go to work and likes to go to bed early.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    PLEASE NOTE: We are in a rural situation 6km from the nearest shop or bus stop, 10- 12 km from the nearest town and railway station ( Haywards Heath or Horsham ) there is no regular bus service from our nearest village, but we can take volunteers to the bus service in a village 5km away for travel on their days off. I am happy to meet and collect helpers from train or bus by prior arrangement. It is a beautiful area for walking and we are able to loan a local map for helpers wishing to explore
    Mobile phone reception can be unreliable or erratic, dependant on the network used.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Small campervans easily accomodated

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours daily, 5 days a week. Flexible regarding time off.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)
















































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 777876652237