Organic hobby farm on the Gold Coast, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 55 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    28.09.2020

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We have been working hard to decommercialise a small citrus orchard and need your help converting it to a sustainable edible and native garden. There is heaps of pruning, weeding and fencing to be done. The work is quite labor intensive and some contact with animals is required. The property, gardens and orchards haven't been maintained in recent years so we have lots of work to do.
    Trees are predominantly limes (of several varieties including Australian Native Finger Limes), but there is a wide selection of other citrus, tropical and exotic fruit frees on site. There is also a small organic vegetable patch that needs lots of love and attention.

    Samantha is a teacher and works from home offering online tuition in literacy and numeracy. She always keen to talk about music, art, ballet, movies and animals. When not on the farm she is at the beach.
    Chris is a builder and runs a building company on the Gold Coast. He is an indoor tunnel flyer (iFly) and knows all the best mountain bike tracks on the GC.
    We are both generally pretty quiet in the evenings but enjoy a drink and a yarn in the late afternoons when the work is done.

    Located in the beautiful Hinterland region of the sunny Gold Coast, it is preferred that you have your own transport. My husband and I both have our own businesses and busy lives away from the farm too, and so we are frequently back and forth to the Coast but we can't always take passengers. When we can, you're always welcome to hitch a ride back to civilisation which is 15-30 minutes away. We welcome couples or friends travelling together and would prefer you to stay on for between 2 to 3 weeks. Helping hours are flexible and can be negotiated. Generally we will be expecting 25 hours a week split over 4 - 5 days. Typically we take Monday and Tuesday off.

    You will be living alongside two dogs, a cat, three geese (+ our new baby gosling), 4 ducks, rooster and chicken/s. They will also appreciate your loving care.

    We are happy to provide groceries for self catering. There is a limited kitchen facility in the cottage and you're welcome to cook in the house if you need oven or larger stove top.

    We need your help, contribution and love injected into our beautiful little farm. Many hands make light work and working together is always more fun than working alone.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn about permaculture and organic farming techniques. Enjoy a genuine Australian adventure with kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, goannas, cockatoos, kookaburras, king parrots, possums and all the rest of the native locals living in harmony with us on site.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help needed is pruning, mulching, weeding, fencing, irrigation maintenance to bring this beautiful farm back from the brink. You will be learning right along side us as we begin our journey into the world of organic farming. The work is often tough and labour intensive. In warmer months it is very hot. We work rain, hail or shine. You will be exposed to domestic and native animals.
    Hours are flexible and we will set a schedule that matches our own work and your plans on arrival.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is well suited to couples or 2 friends travelling together as there is just one queen sized bed in the cottage. You have a choice accommodation either private cottage or in the main house. Accommodation is simple. Water restrictions apply as we are on tank water and internet connectivity is limited. Free to air TV connection is reliable.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are QLD and Gold Coast locals. We know all the good spots and will be happy to give you the insider tips on how to get there and what the best bits of South East Qld really are. Chris will take keen mountain bike riders to the best spots on request and you're always welcome to tag along for any road trips we take during your stay.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 777349458547