Help an English family with their winter projects in Brittany, France



Bisher 198 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    UPDATE NOVEMBER 2019: We are looking for a couple (preferably) to come and help do a lot of general tidying up and refreshing around our place and garden during the quiet season. We need people who are happy to work on their own initiative; don't mind physical work and getting their hands dirty! Own transport would be an advantage. 2 week stay minimum, but if we are all happy at the end of that period, the stay can easily be extended!

    We are an English family who have lived In Brittany for 12 years. I run a B&B from our home and with my husband, run a property management business looking after gites and 2nd homes in the Josselin area for owners who live outside France. Both my children are now living and working/studying back in the UK. We are living in our 2nd renovation project and there is still scope to renovate inside and improve the gardens. There would be plenty of odd jobs - some heavy lifting may be required, not full building tasks but DIY/painting skills would be useful.

    We have a dog (help with dog walking always appreciated!), and 5 cats, so you must like animals to come and stay! In return, we offer good homecooked food, conversation in English and good company in a beautiful part of the Brittany countryside, but only a 2 minute drive from the historic town of Josselin, with its Chateau, canal (great for walking and cycling), shops and restaurants.

    Having now had a number of workawayers over the past few years, we have a good system of working 5 days on, 2 days off for sightseeing etc. The days off do not have to be a weekend - we are very flexible. Work starts around 9.30 in the morning and finishes around 3pm (including a break for lunch!!) although again, this is not set in stone. After that is free time - you will have your own room with ensuite, tv and wifi. You can also bring your dog with you if you have one! We are centrally located in central Brittany with access to the north and south coasts in just over an hour, Rennes, Vannes and St Malo are also within an hour and a half drive. If you enjoy the countryside, peace and quiet and outside activities, you will enjoy this area!

    Generally, workawayers must be willing to use initiative, work on their own, not mind cleaning, gardening, walking the dog, cutting wood, weeding, painting etc etc.

    I can collect you from Rennes (airport or railway station), Dinard airport or the ferry terminal at St-Malo, if you are coming without your own transport. However, please be aware that public transport is VERY limited locally in the winter, so you will be restricted to where you go if you do not have your own transport.

    Many thanks for reading this & please get in contact if you think you can help...

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are centrally located in Brittany, making it ideal to travel around the whole region. There is plenty of history, from the legends of King Arthur and Merlin right up to the 2nd World War; lots of chateaux and medieval buildings to admire but also many local concerts; poetry events and antique markets. Almost something for everyone!

  • Arbeit


    In the house, there is lots of painting to be finished and another bedroom to renovate so there will probably be lots of painting and finishing jobs there. Outside, there is wood to be chopped for the woodburner, a large barn to be organised and the garden has been neglected whilst we have been working on the house, so there is plenty of tidying up and replanting required once the weather improves in the spring and we are just starting on the vegetable garden after a 4 year break. Frankie the dog always need walking/exercising, so help with that would be much appreciated! Please note this is NOT an "eco" project.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Double room with ensuite bathroom. French and English TV/DVD. Wifi access.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    It would be useful if you had your own transport, however we can pick volunteers up from the ferry/airport/railway station if required. Josselin (the nearest town) is 15 minute walk away and there are bus routes from there to other major towns/cities in Brittany if you have no transport of your own. You are also welcome to borrow bicycles when they are not being used by the B&B guests. The nearest main railway station and airport are 45 mins away in Rennes. Our previous workawayers have been able to travel around large parts of the region with some planning and staying away overnight to make the most of the time - so anything is possible!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    4 - 5 hours per day 5 days a week

Our house
Back garden in spring
Rick, Karen Louis, Frankie and Snoop
The Chateau at Josselin - unfortunately we do not live here!

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 775233721374