Explore beautiful Vancouver, Canada with lots to see and do, and nature at your doorstep.

Country

Kanada

aktualisiert  

Bisher 56 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    06.07.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My husband and I live in a family house in Vancouver, BC, Canada. We have been married for 54 years, are still active, my husband working at his electrical business and me doing a lot of volunteer work for our church. We are busy people, never having enough time for the projects we would like to do around the house.
    I like to cook, but sometimes would love help doing this when I get busy.
    We are friendly, welcoming people and have travelled all over North America and Europe.
    Hobbies are gardening, travel, reading and cooking. We have a small RV which is parked in the back, and we occasionally travel locally and throughout the USA.
    We have a friendly dog, Charlie - a medium doodle (poodle/retriever mix) 1 1/2 years old. The house is on a quiet residential street.
    Our daughter and grandson (age 19 - working full-time) live in a separate suite in the house and have 2 cats. They interact with us and one of the cats spends most of his time in our space.
    Our house is 25 minutes' bus ride to the city centre, and 1 1/2 blocks to the bus line.
    We have a separate single guest room which a workaway person would have. One person only as the room is smaller. The bed is very comfortable, and the room includes a TV.

    Workaways are not required to clean the rental room (rental space), and note that this was a one-time occurrence from a first-time Workaway on an emergency basis done willingly and well. We regret that he took exception to this after the fact, and left. We wish him well.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The City of Vancouver is a multi-culteral place, with lots to see and do. It is on the Pacific Ocean, with mountains, ocean and rivers surrounding the city, and beautiful parks and outdoor spaces. Wildlife is plentiful even in the City (coyotes, racoons, skunks, birds), and we have a world-class aquarium. As Vancouver is on the doorstep of a huge wilderness, other animals like bears and mountain lions are seen regularly in the north part of Vancouver near the mountains.
    It is a diversified city, with many different cultures, food and festivals.
    Outdoor activities are popular, with bike trails, great transit, passenger ferries, and subway lines.
    We are near swimming pools (indoor) and a university, and also near walking trails along the river which can be reached by walking (20 - 30 minutes) or transit.
    While I prefer the workaway to be able to speak English well enough to be understood, I have been an English tutor, so would be willing to help improve existing English skills. I know the City well and can help plan outings.
    Winters here are temperate, with little snow, but lots of rain during the winter months. Skiing/snowboarding is available from November to April just north of the City and can be reached by transit in 45 minutes to an hour. Summers (from June to September) are generally warm and sunny. As I write this, in July - the weather is sunny and averaging 26C.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    In the spring, summer and fall, help is needed in the garden - weeding and lawn care, watering deck plants, yard clean-up, etc.
    Grocery shopping with me, putting stuff away, cleaning fridge and stove would help.
    House work with cleaning, projects (cupboard dekludge and cleaning, window washing, deep-cleaning of spaces, carpets) laundry and so on. Our garage needs to be cleaned out, with stuff taken to the recycling. Our deck needs pressure washing and cleaning of surfaces, railings, overhand ceiling. This sort of work. Having my car washed is a wonderful thing.
    Help is sometimes needed with dog Charlie - sometimes walking him or taking him to the dog park when I am involved in my volunteer work.
    Sometimes it would be great to have the workaway cook something for us for dinner when we are busy. We love good, fresh and natural food, and salads. My husband was born in Germany so loves this kind of food.
    My daughter is a fabulous cook and sometimes cooks for us. She has cooked little treats for all our Workaways to show her appreciation for their help.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    German: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A bright, single room with comfortable single bed, dresser and closet, nice artwork and TV. Food provided. Sometimes I will cook a big batch of stew, soup or chili, etc. which the workaway would be welcome to share, but generally workaway to prepare own meals. We have 1 1/2 bathrooms - so main bathroom is shared with my husband and myself. As we enjoy meat, a vegan or vegetarian might find it difficult to coordinate cooking but I leave this up to the workaway to decide.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Time off can be spent exploring the city, sightseeing (lots to see and do), biking, walking or just relaxing. We are willing to share our back deck during the warm months when it is available - plants, flowers, fountain, etc. There are many events and festivals in and around the City - just go on-line and you can get an idea of what's available.
    I work at home generally, and when we are not doing volunteer work at our church, we like to cook, relax in the front yard or on the deck with a glass of wine, read and watch a little TV. In the summer we take RV trips (with our dog and sometimes our grandson) to nearby lakes and parks for 3 or 4 days at a time. Once a year, we do a longer trip south to the USA and are gone for 6 weeks or so.
    Our neighborhood is a family one, quiet and neighbors would expect that we are also. Although we are very social and would love to talk with the workaway to share experiences, we do like our privacy sometimes, and would freely communicate when we wish to be private. The workaway can either be out exploring in the evening or can relax on the deck (in summer) or watch TV or read in their room.
    We sometimes go for walks in various parks with our dog, and often invite the Workaway to come along to see parts of the city they would not otherwise see.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.6)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.2)

Kommunikation: (5.0)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 773728415197