Stay with our family and be part of an organic farm in East Devon UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 311 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.05.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    333

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Greetings!

    We are looking for volunteers who can help with home tasks and leading the cooking of our communal meals, also some cleaning, egg collecting and laundry.

    We are looking for enthusiastic Workawayers who can really commit to helping us, be part of the family, and have some flexibility with hours. We prefer that helpers stay for at least 1 month (ideally more), to provide more stability for our daughter and the rest of the team.

    We are situated in a beautiful valley tucked away in the stunning surroundings of Branscombe in the East Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Although we have 39 acres, over 16 acres is woodland, some of which is ancient broadleaf woodland with some trees estimated at around 200 years old. Numerous springs feed a brook that runs through the centre of the valley, down through the village and to the sea.

    We are a small certified organic poultry farm, producing meat and eggs. We have two flocks of laying hens, 5 flocks of meat chickens, various fruit trees and a small fish farm where we rear carp for the table. We are now developing a new permaculture vegetable garden and we also have a childrens' education facility on our farm.

    We are aiming to be as sustainable and self-sufficient as possible and eventually to live completely fossil-fuel free. We are very interested in permaculture and how to apply these techniques to a commercial smallholding.

    Any questions please get in touch. We look forward to hearing from you and wish you happy travels!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We love meeting new people from all walks of life, and learning about different skills and approaches to living and the creation of a more environmentally sustainable and united world. We believe that through connecting with each other, our shared world will become a better place - Workaway is an amazing opportunity for this!

    We love sharing conversations and exchanging stories about our different countries and lifestyles, community, politics, energy, farming, economics, history, art, sustainable futures and more.

    We love hearing about life in our volunteers' country of residence, about personal journeys, families and backgrounds, and we are very happy to help people improve their English as we work, eat and chat together!

    Please bear in mind that we slaughter and process our livestock in our on-farm abattoir, however volunteers are not involved in that process. We are of course happy to show you this process if you are interested in learning or studying ethical and humane slaughter of poultry, or gutting (evisceration).

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would welcome someone who is a confident cook and who is used to cooking meals for between 4-7 people. Also someone who is great with children, our daughter is 8 years old and is really into circus skills, and arts and crafts. We are often busy until 6pm so from 4pm until 6pm we need someone to be with her and also prepare the evening meal. We provide the ingredients which are 90% organic. This task will often be assisted by other farm volunteers. Also earlier in the day it would be helpful to have someone set out the lunch items, and perhaps do some other cleaning tasks or washing clothes, hanging clothes out to dry etc.

    We would generally ask helpers to help 25 hours per week, i.e. 5 hours per day, with 2 days off per week.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our accommodation for volunteers is one of two 14-foot caravans. One has two single beds and is suitable for one or two people. The other has only a double bed and is therefore suitable for either one person or a couple. They are situated approx 15m from a Portakabin with a fitted kitchen and bathroom, and covered area for meals or relaxing. There is an outdoor composting toilet nearby. Broadband wi-fi is available and can be picked up from inside the caravans. It is a very outdoor lifestyle and you should consider if this is suitable for you before applying, particularly if you are planning to be here in the winter months, October - March. During these times meals are in our cabin, rather than outside!

    Evening meals and lunches will generally be together. We eat meat (always organic and well sourced), and we rear our own chicken for eggs and meat. However we welcome 'veggies' that do not object to meat being cooked and consumed around them.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are not near any shops and are on the outskirts of a very long village which is a collection of valleys leading to the sea, the beach is approx. 1.5 miles away. We can provide transport to the nearest towns when possible, there are buses nearby, and we have bicycles available too. The village currently does not have a shop but does have excellent pubs, a tea room, and a beach cafe. There are amazing walks along the cliff tops and through wooded valleys, and numerous local attractions to enjoy.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 772935473467