1 / 2

Come and help out our family on day to day projects in Glenbervie, Whangarei, New Zealand

  • Neuseeland
  • Bisher 10 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 05.04.2021



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    We are a family living on a three-acre property in Glenbervie, Whangarei. My elderly parents live in the main house and I have a tinyhouse in the gardens. We also have three accommodation units including a rustic private cabin that you can call home during your stay. Our property has over 400 mature trees which make for a beautiful jungle-like garden (and a lot of work!). We all like to have a good time and enjoy Mum's legendary cooking. I love to travel and am a very active couchsurfer.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I'm a free spirit with some distinctly anarchist philosophies, and I love to meet people who can engage intelligently in big-picture conversations about the future of society. If we get on at an intellectual level (regardless of whether our views are aligned or opposed), then the rest will flow naturally. I'm also a patriotic Kiwi and I'll happily spend some days off to go on beautiful hikes, explore remote areas by 4x4, and visit some of the best-kept secrets of Northland - the breathtaking beaches that tourists don't know exist! If you enjoy roast meals, giant lasagnes, and all types of comfort food, Mum's cooking won't disappoint! We often enjoy a few drinks with dinner which inevitably leads to some hilarious conversations.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We have a lot more going on than just constantly maintaining the gardens! Right now I'm in the process of building a garage, so carpentry skills are a big plus! The guest accommodations are a work in progress requiring renovations and beautifying. I also want to install a new kitchen for Mum in the near future. Something that is lacking in our gardens is food cultivation, and I think it's super important that we work on becoming more self-sufficient as the soil and weather are both ideal for growing. In the long term I want to rear my own chickens, sheep, and pigs, and would welcome a workawayer who wants to kick-start that process. For now we just have six rescue cats, who are great at catching mice but not so good at socialising when guests are around!

    Aside from the property I'm very involved in cars. Right now I've got three Jaguars, two Fords, and a Mercedes. Usually there's a Land Rover or three in the mix as well but I'm taking a break from that particular love/hate relationship for a while! I buy cars to save them and give them another life (the best form of recycling is not to throw away something in the first place), then I flip them to fund my travels. If you've got mechanical or body repair skills they'll definitely come in handy. I've also got a start-up underway building an app for the car industry, so I'm always keen to discuss and get a fresh perspective on tech, retail, and automotive industry aspects.

    In sum, we don't need any particular skills, just a good attitude from a friendly person who is motivated to help out on day to day projects.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Your own cabin with a queen bed nestled in the garden. The cabin has electricity and Wifi, and the bathroom is 50m away.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    New Zealand in general is full of natural beauty, but many travellers get too caught up in the tourist traps of the South Island to realise that Northland is a totally unique part of the country, with stunning geography, unique flora, beautiful subtropical weather, and some of the best beaches in the world. It is pretty underpopulated, which is something to treasure in the 21st century, so the nightlife isn't great, but we can make our own nightlife with good friends and beach barbecues. There's not much public transport in the area, but you can hitch hike around pretty easily, and I'll lend you a wagon to drive and camp in if you're a good driver and eligible for my insurance (I've had two separate couchsurfers write off two of my cars, and they both insisted they were experienced drivers, so I'm pretty cautious about handing over the keys these days!) We're also happy for you to take flexi-time off so you can spend a few days exploring independently.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 769322315786

Weitere Bilder


Come and help us to become self-sufficient in Auckland, New Zealand
Experience life with our family on a Sheep & Cattle farm and help with gardening & renovation projects, New Zealand