Help with building and get creative on the beautiful island of Pico, The Azores, Portugal




Bisher 516 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    98.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung



    I desperately need help with building, carpentry, cementing, roof beam repairs , maintenance and DIY🌈

    This could be short stay 2/3 weeks, or a longer stay. Or even a permanent stay, if you’re considering a life change.

    Come help with the creative restoration of this alternative eco house on the wonderful island of Pico, The Azores, situated in the northern Atlantic ocean. 1000 miles from Lisbon. 3500 miles from the USA

    My intention is to create an alternative eco house. In the future running art-workshops, up-cycling classes, recycling, meditation classes, yoga and energy healing therapies.

    My home is 95% recycled, reused, repaired or restored and I am very proud of this. It is important for me to continue to do this. I often take what other people throw away so that I can recycle and love it again, giving it a new lease of life!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Wine growing and whaling were the main activities here on Pico Island. Its history started around 1480 when the first settlers arrived, coming from the Northernn areas of Continental Portugal. The newcomers first established their base at Lajes village and then, in 1542, founded a settlement in São Roque village. You can learn about the whale history, my house is only 10 mins drive from the musuem in the village of Lajes. Local wine production and tasting tours are plentiful.

    This would be a great opportunity for volunteers to get involved in learning to upcycle and recycle as much of the existing furniture that is currently in the house. Volunteers can learn to paint, draw, Decoupage, cook, culture exchange and language practice. if you have any yoga teaching experience perhaps you could share this with me.

    Namaste beautiful people. 🌈

  • Arbeit


    I'm looking for people who have roofing skills, building, carpentry, cementing skills and DIY abilities. Together with a positive mind and enthusiasm for this project. It is important for me that volunteers can work independently, it is not always possible to be with you 100% of the time. I often work on the computer. I would like to hear about your own ideas for the project and I would be grateful to those people who are committed to help move the project forward. DIY skills, and being able to use electrical tools would be really handy.

    i grow a lot of my own food such as figs, oranges, custard apples, and most vegetables. I am against using any type of pesticides or chemicals. It’s important that I harvest organic food.

    The house is in a very poor state. Only half of the house is dry, due to a roof that is in desperate need of repairs. Some of the flooring on this half of the house also needs repairing. The bathroom currently has no water connected so the toilet has to have a bucket flush... the shower in the house doesn’t work and this situation is not for the faint hearted and people who come and stay here will have to be comfortable with that. I have built a beautiful compost toilet outside housed in the old outdoor toilet which was traditional here some years ago. I found an old aluminium bucket shower that you can fill with hot water for showers. (See photos).

    There is a double bed and a single bed in the dry part of the house that has been painted and has clean bedding but this room still needs repairs.
    I fill up water from my water harvesting system for showers, plant watering and toilet flushing. For drinking water I Use the outside tap.
    I’m also part of a drum crew and I am learning to play the djembe. If you’re a musician, bring your instrument!

    I have fishing equipment and I can teach you how to fish and you might want to go catch supper.

    The house has a huge room on the 2nd floor with windows in each direction that looks over the Atlantic ocean, and it is my intention to turn this into a space used for an art studio, meditation area and yoga space. However, right now it’s used as a temporary living and cooking space.

    The house has been abandoned for many years and I need help with a very leaky roof, general building, carpentry, maintenance and repairs. Cleaning.

    Please give the experiences and skills you have and what you can do to help move the project forward in your message.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Chinese (Others): Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I’m an English teacher, I work online teaching live lessons up to 30 students. . I can assist people to improve their English speaking.

  • Unterkunft


    You will have your own room with a single or double bed. (There are two volunteer rooms) If there are other volunteers, you may have to share your room. You could also camp in the garden if you have a tent. I have a sofa bed upstairs and a hammock.

    I try to eat a mainly plant based organic (when possible) diet and I do not supply food for volunteers. It is a requirement that the house is MEAT FREE! - No land animals to be eaten at this project.

    YOU WILL NEED TO PROVIDE YOUR OWN FOOD OR we can divide the cost of groceries between us all - sharing food and cooking as a community. Therefore I ask for 3/4 hours a day instead of the maximum of 5.

    I would be delighted if volunteers helped with cooking - (this can be done on a rota) I'd love to taste your own home cooked food from your own country. There may be vegetables or fruit in the garden that we can use.

    There is a great supermarket in Lajes Do Pico that has a large selection of organic/vegan and alternative foods

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is sooooo much to do here.

    You can sit on one of the many balcony's and whale or dolphin watch (May - Oct). If you are very lucky. Alternatively there are local whale and dolphin watching tours in Lajes. (About 50 euros)

    If you are an early riser you can watch the sunrise or walk to the ocean and watch the sunset over Mount Pico.

    Mount Pico (Portuguese: Montanha do Pico) is a stratovolcano located on Pico Island, in the mid-Atlantic archipelago of the Azores. It is the highest mountain of Portugal, at 2,351 metres (7,713 ft) above sea level, and is one of the highest Atlantic mountains; it is more than twice the elevation of any other peak in the Azores. You can hike up the volcano with a guide. (Approx 50 euros)

    There are many opportunities to be involved with extreme sports, such as skateboarding, diving, hiking the many trails here, take a jeep tour around the island. Whale watching and dolphin swimming tours.

    There are lots of local natural swimming spots that are just beautiful to chill out around and you can have a swim or you could walk into the town of Santa Cruz and cool off in the large outdoor saltwater swimming pool. (this is free). There are lots of cafes nearby selling cheap local wine and Portuguese beers There are restaurants in the neighbouring town of Lajes Do Pico. Or you can chill out in the hammock on the balcony just listening to the ocean. You can join me with meditation practise or do some yoga. Sometimes I’m running a step by step painting/drawing class.

    There are two neighbouring islands just 30/45 mins away by ferry Faial and Sao Jorge, if you go on foot this costs 4 euros each way for Faial and 10 euros to Sao Jorge.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 761488443857