Come to help two Mums! in a town called Fermoy in County Cork



Bisher 48 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung




    We are currently looking for a female volunteer/s for 10th - 19th of July. You will be taking care of Amy's animals (2 small old dogs and 2 chickens) while she is away, and doing some gardening and painting for me (Collette). You will need to be ok with getting up early in the morning to deal with the chickens. We look forward to hearing from you :-)

    Hello! Amy and me (Collette) are two parents living just a few doors away from each other. We are looking for volunteers who will be happy to spend some hours volunteering with Amy, and some hours with me.

    Amy has two lively children aged 8 and 6, and I have two children aged 21 and 15. I homeschool my 15 year old and Amy's children are in school.

    We are both creative people and we both try to be as environmentally friendly as we can. We do this partly by recycling materials for projects, but that often means that projects need a lot of extra work, can be slow, and sometimes very frustrating. We both grow vegetables (Amy is ahead of me this year as I have nothing planted!!) and help to take care of each other's plants if the other is away. We also take care of each other's pets when necessary. Amy has two small dogs and two chickens and I have two cats, four chickens and a puppy. We have a lot of fun together and we are more like family than just friends. Our children are lovely and will make you feel very welcome and will want to play lots of games with you (me and Amy will also want to play, and we will be lovely too). We live in a town called Fermoy in County Cork. The town has approximately 6,500 people. There are several amenities within the town, including supermarkets, sports facilities, a swimming pool and walks along the river.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are fun people so we are sure you will enjoy your time with us. Amy can teach you about using plants as medicine, and she will happily take you on a walk to find some wild plants that you can eat and use for healing. I can teach you about Irish archaeology and take you to see some sites that are not visited by tourists and some that are (you will need walking boots or shoes for this). Hopefully you will get to explore the area so that you gain a perspective of what life is like in our part of Ireland. Our area is quite different to the West of Ireland, which is where a lot of tourists usually go, and they don't get to experience the less traditional view of Ireland. We enjoy playing board games, video games, spending time together, water fights, eating and generally just being silly, so it's very important that you have a sense of humour.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Due to accommodation restrictions we are currently only able to take female volunteers. As parents we are very busy and need some extra help. We both need someone who can cook the meals and do some regular cleaning around the house so that we will have time to concentrate on getting work done. We will also ask you to give some help with painting and gardening if we need it. We'd love if you could teach us about your culture, hobbies and show us any skills you have. It is important that you speak good English because we do not speak other languages.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You will have a bedroom with a double bed. The bedroom is very small, but we think it is adequate for what you will need. There is a shared bathroom, a kitchen, a living room and gardens at the front and back of both houses. Smoking is outside only. Our cats and dogs live inside the houses. You will be welcome to spend your free time in either of our houses, so when you're bored of me you can go to Amy, and vice versa ;-) In my house we are vegetarians, so I am unable to provide meals with meat. In Amy's house the meals are mostly vegetarian, but you are welcome to provide your own meat.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our town is on the main Bus Eireann bus route from Cork City to Dublin, and there are buses throughout the day, every day of the week. A return ticket to Cork City costs around 13 euro and the journey takes about 40 minutes each way. A return ticket to Dublin costs around 26 euro and the journey is about three hours each way. Cork Airport is only 45km away from Fermoy. Our houses are within walking distance to the shops, supermarkets and pubs. It takes 20 seconds to walk from my house to Amy's house.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 755539641491