Join a Steampunk yoga family helping with home cooked meals in Chiapas, Mexico

Country

Mexiko

Bisher 160 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.04.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    55.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a small new family, a couple with a toddler and a cat. Mauricio is a yoga teacher with many years of experience, and currently organizes a biannual teacher training program in San Cristobal. Gabriela also has experience teaching yoga and is currently studying Gestalt and body-mind psychotherapy. Because working and caring for our child are already quite a handful for us, we are looking for someone to help out in the kitchen (mainly cooking, washing dishes, keeping the kitchen clean, and some grocery shopping).

    We live in a central neighborhood of San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas, a Mexican colonial town. We are a 10 minute walk from the center of town, which has numerous cafes, bars, music venues and restaurants, and a 5 minute walk from the local market, where fresh produce can be purchased directly from small producers. Our house has a traditional Mexican layout, with all the rooms facing an inside patio and, while it's not huge, it's pretty ample. We'd share the main kitchen, a yoga/meditation practice room, an outside terrace, hammocks, and the shower (but not the toilet). San Cristobal is a transit town between North and Central America so, while small, it is also quite diverse, offering the opportunity to engage in different things depending on whom you approach: from rock climbing, to yoga and spirituality, to traditional medicine and midwifery.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We could practice yoga together, as we're both certified Yoga teachers. If you're interested in meditation (Vipassana), we could share that as well. We have a projector in the yoga room, with which we sometimes watch documentary and art films in the evenings. We enjoy rock climbing, and have the necessary gear, so if you are interested we can go climb some really lovely outdoor routes together. We also enjoy sharing and exchanging life and travel experiences, as curious people with many interests, which range from yoga, meditation and massage, to film, music, dance, rock climbing and somatic exploration, to anthropology, psychotherapy, herbal medicine, permaculture and bioconstruction. We have an interesting and diverse collection of books which you can peruse during your stay. Mauricio mostly teaches Yoga Teacher Trainings (in November and March) while doing a masters in Geospatial Analysis. He is also a Thai massage practitioner, and has trained and performed in contemporary dance. Gabriela has a background in Anthropology and Documentary Film production and is currently preparing to become a Gestalt and body-mind therapist. She is also a trained singer, with a passion for music and dance. We are happy to share our interests with you and to learn from yours!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Basically, we would like for you to be in charge of the kitchen: mainly, this would consist of grocery shopping, cooking, and cleaning up/doing dishes after meals. The idea is for you to become part of the family during your stay. We have a toddler, so we'd appreciate someone who likes kids. We believe a couple is too limited and boring for a small kid to grow up in and since our biological families are far (we hail, respectively, from Puerto Rico and Mexico City) we like the idea of having more people around so our child can have broader references about what being human is about.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Spanish, English, Portuguese, some French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The guest room has a double bed and it's quite private, since it is across the patio from the kitchen, bathrooms, yoga room and our own bedroom.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    San Cristobal is a culturally diverse, hybrid city where Mexicans, native Indigenous groups and idiosyncratic foreigners come together. As such, it is full of opportunities to engage in a diverse range of activities in a variety of alternative cultural spaces, including (but not limited to): african dance, rock climbing, son jarocho, silks, circus arts, chocolate production, yoga (hatha, kundalini, acro), traditional herbal medicine, traditional sweatlodge ceremonies, visiting zapatista communities, as well as beautiful natural sights only hours away from the city.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 752925158248