Participate in this creative community project and grow the garden in Ghar el Melh, Tunisia

Country

Tunisia

Bisher 51 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am Soufïa. Interdisciplinary artist. I am creating an artist residency as a sacred space between sea and mountain. The project is to gather here a creative community who simply live a day to day life offering her lovingly presence to what is here. To what encounters their journey. This is at the core of the artistic practice: Creating a piece of art by experiencing our own intimacy in relationship-to/related-with what is here. We are is offering the opportunity to others to experience this way of living/ of making art.


    I had the chance to live in different countries and cultures, practicing engineering, communication then art. Born in Tunisia, I studied in France then lived in Canada these 20 last years. Now at my 50's I feel called to create a space that reflects and offers the fruits of this path. Surrendering to the beauty of who we are in our authentic and deep expression. Honoring the union of the vulnerability and the power within each of us.
    An old house has just been bought. It is at the North Coast of Tunisia. 1h driving from Tunis. 1h30 from Carthage. At a historic village called Ghar el Melh / Porto Farina. The house has just been renovated. It is lived as a BIG studio. 4h service for the well being of the house are suggested in exchange of the accomodation. I highly recommand a minimum of 4 weeks stay. Experience taught me that a creative breakthrough often happens at the 3rd week.

    The garden is huge. The land measures around 5 000 m2. There are wonderful trees. A well. A fertile soil to cultivate vegetables in Autumn and Winter. There are also some young fruit trees: fig and prickly pear in summer, pommegrenate and pear in autumn, lemon in autumn and winter, olive in winter and mulberry in spring. The house is at 500 m of the beach. and small shops and a weekly market are in the village, at 5-10 min driving from home.

    I just adopted 2 dogs, Odyssey and White Dog. There are many wild kitties on the land, frogs, birds and all kind of life.

    I invite attentive presence in the space. Being attentive-to, present-with is love. Creating could be lived as a surrender to the dance of life within, a manifestation of the movement through the body, an embodiement of life desire, an acceptance of the present, an awakened expression of who we are.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You could benefit from sharings and insights of an experienced artist and human being. You might feel regenerated with a way of living that honor intimate listening within. Living in a rural environment, by the mountain and by the sea is highly resourceful. You might cultivate and enjoy expressing who you are, sharing and receiving other authentic expressions.

    I myself crossed french, tunisian, canadian cultures. Lived in an engineering environment, institutional, artistic and underground cultures.

    Set your intention. What would you love to learn in this journey?
    Why are you feel called to participate in this project?

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The most important for me is to gather a community with a grounded presence in a day to day living.

    The artist residency is at the very begining of its creation. Everything is new, you can't be wrong, as Diana the first workawayer said. I am here with a collaborator and with some local workers when needed. Would you want to participate to the soul Space at its beginnings ? Diversity of skills are welcomed. This house living, this big land have a huge potential: gardening, planting, taking care of trees and plants, developping a permacultural experience. There is also domestic maintenance needed as cooking, cleaning, painting, small repairs, DIY, simple building like a shelter for bike and tools. And sculptures, installations, relational practices and so many other possibilities.

    This is just one side of the help needed. I would call it a Yang side. the 'To-DO' aspect of the human experience. There is also to honor our Yin side and make a right space, find a right composition in the daily life to receive, listen, play, dance or sing, share, allowing oneself to feel strong and vulnerable at the same time. Authentic. Alive. Whole.

    The season to plant, seed and cut in Tunisia is usually Autumn then Winter. Spring flowers blossom wonderfully and is a beautiful harvest season. Summer is a very dry, touristic and crowded period. If you have knowledge about gardening, farming, planting with this kind of climate on the coast, you are welcome.

    To be clear: I do not need only a worker. I'm aiming to attract creators with whome I share a similar perception of reality. to honor life. To celebrate the splendor and the fragility of who we are. To be honnest with oneself and so with the other. And communicate consciously. To allow oneself to feel fully alive. To be just as you are and just as I am with loving kindness. To offer the earth and people around a different model of living. This is an experiential creative community project at its begining.

    You might be an artist, an endless lover of life, a creator in your own Way, a free spirit, an unknown awakened Buddha.

    If you feel called, I'll be happy to meet you first online.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Arabisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Two Independant Studios, 12 m2 each with bathroom and shower. Small fridge and closets. The studio is at the Ground level of the house, Facing geraniums, a veranda, the garden with trees. They are well heated and one is equiped with AC. All is freshly renovated this spring-summer 2021. Food is cooked at the shared kitchen a few stairs up in the main house. We might share cooking sometimes and take care of our own cooking other times. Just feeling the need of the moment.

    The house is non smoking. I quit smoking and drinking since 15 years. I cook gluten free and diary free for myself for health issue. Know that gluten free industrial stuff are still rare and expansive in Tunisia. However I eat eggs. They can be found in the village at small farmers houses which is an advantage. Cooked food is mainly vegetarian with sometimes fish and local vegetables and fruits.

    There is an early morning routine that can be shared: Meditation. Morning writings. Physical exercice that begins the day.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    What is available to be explored by your own and how to get there:
    There is a bike to go to the village Ghar el Melh with cafés, old walls of anciant forts, a port and some small groceries.
    the beach is at walk distance. the mountain behind is to explore. the area is known for its grottes that were the shelters for holy men of last centuries. they are still sacred places visited by locals. Sidi Ali el Mekki is one of them. (It is also the name of the beach and the area where is the house).
    Another Port and fresh fish is available biking distance, around 10min.
    There is also at the other side of the mountain Raf Raf Forest. Known for its pine trees. And it’s amazing view on the top.
    The biggest village nearby is at 30 minutes driving. Ras Jebel. A taxi can be called (40 dinars the round trip). there, Ras Jbel, there is a big market and all kind of groceries.
    The capital Tunis is at 1h driving and it can be reached by collective taxi called Louage. very cheap. Round trip around 15-20 dinars.
    The country is in my own experience safe even for women.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 746468129891