Join me in my tiny, peaceful, 100-year-old cottage and experience nature of North Karelia, Finland



Bisher 44 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

  • Beschreibung


    NOTE! I can't take more visitors this year! Applications for next year possible – starting from May 2023.

    I have a hundred year old tiny cottage in North Karelia, Eastern Finland. This area is known for its natural beauty and pristine lakes. The house and garden welcome volunteers to enjoy the stillness of this land, leave a positive mark, dream what kind of world they'd like to create.

    This place is in the middle of a forest and there's rich wildlife, especially pray birds are seen almost daily. It is really a wild environment, so we live along rabbits, ants, mosquitos, hawks, crows, and there's bigger animals too but it's very rare to see them. Also as it's remote, there's no pathways in the forests like in more habited areas, good rubber boots and a mosquito jacket are a great idea.

    Work includes: carrying rocks, chopping wood, moving and digging soil in the garden, reparing the old buildings. In summer 2023 I want to build a green house and more pathways & structures in the garden.

    I bought our cottage as a beginner's project to owning a house, and it has taught me a lot about DIY. I have myself travelled all around the world and workawayed too, so I will make you feel at home and I you'll have time to explore the nature, howl at the moon, sit by a fire and generally enjoy your time in here. I have created this place to be shared and enjoyed.

    As the place is very simple without mod cons the lifestyle in itself takes time, as we need to heat water by fire (not in the hot summer months tho!), carry wood & water etc. There's no shower, washing machine or water pipes, so everything takes a bit more effort than you're probably used to. My wish is that you have some experience of being in a remote, quiet place and you have already worked on some DIY, building or decorating projects.

    I'm not the most keen cook, I like building projects much more (:D), so you'd prepare the meals too, and we can set up a rota of cleaning and cooking. I have a car and there's bicycles to go the shops. By bike it takes 40 mins and is a lovely ride through the forest. There's a clear lake nearby where you can do freediving & snorkeling.

    Looking forward to hearing from you!


  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I have travelled around the world and I know well how it is to arrive to a new country & place. I'm a writer, artist, meditation teacher, biker, explorer of the world. I'm welcoming you as my teacher, friend, global community builder. North Karelia is a remote, pristine part of the world with amazing lakes, tiny beaches and natural reserves. You will learn about the simplicity of life, off-grid living, and build your understanding about practical spiritual life without mod cons. This place offers amazing connection to mama earth.

  • Arbeit


    Garden maintenance, helping with easy DIY in the house, chopping wood, clearing garage spaces from old furniture and other stuff, building an outdoor kitchen, cleaning, painting, also creating eco art in to the forest, and if you have skills to build a teepee, we can also do that. Dancing and creating art! Perhaps organising a dance gathering?

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You can choose your favourite spot in the house, it is TINY but we'll be fine. There's attic room, summer room, and one bedroom.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There's two lakes nearby, other one of them is lovely for snorkelling and seeing fish! There's forest everywhere, you can explore by foot. Food shop, ATM, post office, bus stop etc are 8 km away, you'll get a lift there when needed or you can bicycle (takes 40 mins). There's several buses to the nearest town each day, it takes 1 hour to the city and return ticket costs 9 €. We are in the middle of a forest so bring mosquito repellent and zen mind with you :D

    I have run workshops and gatherings for several years, now I'm taking time off from that as I'm an author and concentrate on writing. I like to start my mornings with some meditation, and Wim Hof breathwork and then just live pretty intuitive life writing and doing what needs my attention. The place itself has a certain rhythm it seems, and the pace of living is slow yet I find things to do all the time. If you're into art, there's a possibility to create eco art in the garden or in to the forest around the house. We'll take turns preparing food and this too will go pretty organically, there's no official meal times.

    There's good internet, that's probably the most modern thing in here. Note, there's no running water and we use eco toilet :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I have a decent & steady internet connection, yet I'm not sure if it's strong enought for big video downloads and such.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There's a possibility to connect a campervan to electricity.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Easy going, chill pets welcomed.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    1-2 hours

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 739231342916