Abandoned village on the island Lefkada in Greece

Country

Griechenland

Bisher 451 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    55.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a Polish couple who have been traveling together for 8 years and before that lived away from home pretty much since teenage years. After having many very diverse experiences, the winds blew us to this beautiful island, where we miraculously found ourselves owners of a piece of land;) We now live in an abandoned village, surrounded by ruins and in love with everything that happens here (not much!:). I am an artist, so in the future, we would love this to be a mecca for creative people who want to come back to the simple way of living and get away from the noise of the capitalistic life. We would love to create a space where people can come with their group of friends or students and teach them how to play the drum, how to cook greek cuisine, or how to paint. Or talk philosophy with a glass of greek ouzo:)
    I love finding food in nature and preserving it for the winter so I do not have to go to the market and buy strawberry jam that's red as cadmium paint - and I would love to teach people how to do so as well. Yeah, Things like that... :)
    Mariusz is a super relaxed and philosophical person, he loves to discover new aspects of life and connect the dots to make sense of existence:)
    We see travels, jobs, people we meet, situations as lifelong learning so in effect nothing is an error;)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The village we live in has been abandoned 40 years ago, so there is no electricity except apart from the solar system that we have put in place, we have an outdoor shower and outhouse. It all offers an amazing opportunity to try living in a simple way and see the pluses and minuses of it for yourself and. Then maybe even come up with ideas on how to make it easier with today's technology but without a negative footprint on the environment. As it's Greece, the nights do not get too cold and the cool shower is actually desirable during the day. This changes of course in the winter months. We still sometimes bathe in the cold nearby river - but it's not for the faint of heart. Its a bit of a "back to basics" lifestyle.
    The nearby villagers come driving by sometimes and like to chat to us in greek, so there is an opportunity to learn some greek as well for those who are interested.
    I forage a lot and make a lot of my own jams, juices, and preserves so if there is any interest in learning how to preserve the summer foods for the wintery days thats also a good opportunity. I pick my own herbs as well and im happy to share all my knowledge.
    There are many amazing places on the island to visit and things to do, and since we lived on the island for a few years we can point out very nice places and sometimes take the volunteers on excursions.
    The beach nearest to us is called Vassiliki, world famous for its termal winds and shallow waters perfect for windsurfing.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for people with some building experience ideally, we have some outdoor stonework and indoor works as well. At the moment, as of November 2021, we are doing some finishing work on a small stone house and also trying to create a small art gallery.
    We have spent 5 summers here (about 6 months each year) clearing the land, collapsed ruins and shaping the space, so we could live here and enjoy our project as it evolves. We managed to create a very cute place for us and the visitors to, but the amount of work does not seem to get smaller:)
    We are expecting the volunteers to help for 5 hours a day 5 days a week, most likely morning time as it's less hot, and then have free time the rest of the day.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Polnisch: Fließend
    Greek: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    As we are "living simply" - so is the accommodation. We have a Tent that can accommodate 4 people normally but my kitchen is happier when we cook for 4 total, so most of the time we only take 1or 2 volunteers at a time.
    I also have to mention the fact that there is only an outdoor shower and outhouse (and a beautiful river sometimes during the year), which make you connect to this place even more:)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have a van and are happy to bring people places from time to time. It works best when we genuinely feel like going somewhere ourselves for the afternoon and of course offer to volunteers to join in. Otherwise, there are two bikes available to the helpers. There are also amazing places off the island and we sometimes organize some excursions here and there. We are very flexible and would love to meet the same, it would be amazing if the helpers were happy to help with cooking and clean up but it is not obligatory. We try to create a very relaxed atmosphere where people are just happy to hang out, share their life with us and be attentive to life happening all around. As life here happens very slow it is a very nice place to quiet down and enjoy simple things like noticing a blooming flower or listening to a frog sing. We have developed a deep appreciation for such things and would love to share them with others.
    I am also an artist, so occasionally I will be painting or sculpting and you're welcome to join in;)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    The internet access we have is via our phones (hotspot) mobile plans.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We had several volunteers show up with their own camper van and it worked very well. There is a flat grassy area 100 meters from our trailer, that's perfect for parking. The access road is all asphalt paved and although sometimes narrow - it's passable even with a larger van.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Yes under condition that they are not making damage to the property and get along with our dog "Rudy" and "Cricket" the cat.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (5.0)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 737332535749