Help a school teacher in Hannover, Germany

Country

Deutschland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 79 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    82.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello!
    I'm Laura, a nomad who is currently at home in Germany for a change. Last year, after a long break I took a full time job as science, physics and maths teacher in a middle and high (comprehensive) school in Hannover. It's the largest and one of the most modern schools here. My second year has recently begun, I now teach grades 6, 9 and 11-13 (ages 11-19). Welcome to join me! The majority has a migration background, in middle school we have several special needs kids. Most of them are super sweet, some can be a challenge sometimes, some need a lot of support. I'm sure many will benefit from you. I teach most topics for the first time, so I'm really busy and stressed at times.
    How things go here depends a bit your interests, talents and language skills. If you are into teaching you can help me prepare the lessons, experiments, worksheets. Also you can just be there for the kids in the classroom. If you're into animals you could help in the school zoo (guinea pigs, birds, fishes, geckos). You should enjoy cycling, because I usually bike the 11 km to school (40 min). There's a tram but it takes the same amount of time. You need to get up early because unfortunately my new schedule starts at 8 every day. -.- You don't necessarily need to join each of the 19 x 45 min I teach thought, that's up to you.
    Furthermore you can spend time with my parents and possibly my friends' children, help in the garden, and please definitely help in the kitchen. Chopping veggies, making salads, smoothies, baking, preparing sandwiches/snacks that we can eat during the sometimes long day at school... stuff like that. You are very welcome to be creative! We have a piano. You could teach my dad if you can (beginner).

    Two weeks is a good time frame for a start, possibly a bit longer if it goes well. We're not able to make long term commitment for several months.

    Some things about us:
    In my rare free time I train Karate and spend time in nature. Some other interests of mine are photography, space science, travelling, hiking, climbing, boating, and I'm a bit into Lego. My parents (retired engineer and biologist) practice various sports several times a week as well. They love classical music and my dad loves jazz. We have a huge collection of board games. I'm vegetarian, my parents aren't. Our cooked meals are mostly vegan. You are welcome to join all our activities and meals.
    Until now I have lived in seven countries and through different platforms I have hosted and stayed with some 300 people. I came here to find those that like to stay a little longer and are interested in teaching.

    What you should bring:
    - Interest in education, teaching or children and teenagers in general.
    - Some German skills and interest to improve your German. Fluency in English if your German is poor.
    - Positve attitude towards cycling 80 min/day
    - Ability to think for yourself and an open eye to notice what needs to be done (both at home and at school)
    - Interest to be part of a family (me and my 70 y/o parents)
    - Proof of vaccination

    What you should please not bring:
    - nit-picking when it comes to working hours. There's actually very little actual "work" that "must" be done here by you. I work at least 60 I guess, you do what you can and like, I have no time to count hours. The time you spent with my students during class (up to 15 if you like) should mainly be considered your time to learn (German and teaching) or your time to volunteer.
    - The belief that you can be of super great help here. We're doing this for fun! We like having guests and we like sharing. You can probably help me about as much as I invest time in telling, showing or explaining stuff to you.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Please tell us what you want to do and learn!
    Basically you are welcome to join everything we do in our daily life. So besides my work at school that would be preparing food, visiting friends, sports, weekend trips... we love the outdoors, hiking and stuff.
    You can learn anything school related, German language, Arabic from my Syrian friends, and try new stuff in the kitchen

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Depends quit a bit on you and the current situation here.

    Most importantly:
    - Help me teach, plan and prepare stuff, scan or copy teaching material, grade tests or homeworks, make your own project, support special needs and immigrant kids, simply be with the kids so they get to meet someone new and are encouraged to speak English
    - Help in the kitchen

    Possibly or occasionally:
    - Teach piano
    - Speak English with my parents and friends and their kids (aged 2-11)
    - Play with friend's kids
    - A little gardening and maybe house maintenance projects
    - go running/cycling with my dad or teach us some other sports

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Norwegian: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Japanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    You will improve your German here by immersion. I have several Syrian friends here with whom you could practice Arabic. My students, parents and friend's kids could improve English by chatting with you and I'm trying to learn learn Japanese.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own room in our row house in a quiet Hannover suburb. Most likely you will even have your own bathroom.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Just let us know what you're interested in please! We live 8 km (15 min by tram) from the city center, 5 min walk from a forest and 10 min walk from the countryside.
    We have hosted 100+ couchsurfers and most of them seemed pretty happy here. :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Can park on the street just outside our house.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We don't have any but we are generally open for pets.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Roughly 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 736852189919