Help out at my idyllic, traditional home on the North Kent Downs, England

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 193 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.12.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live in an old farmhouse on the North Downs in Kent, an area designated as an area of outstanding natural beauty in the south East of England. Its a country property of around six acres, surrounded by fields, meadows and and woodland.

    I share my house with friends and lodgers, and also have a couple of shepherds huts that I rent out to people who want to escape their busy lives for the peace and beauty of this area. A few people might be staying here, and it is a relaxed, friendly, sociable place to stay.

    The property is secluded, but the South East of England is not particularly remote, and is near to many local places of interest as well as thriving towns and cities. London is just over an hour away by train, and Canterbury and Whitstable are nearby.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers could improve their English, learn about living in the English countryside, and the way of life and history of this part of the world.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have a long list of projects that I would like to get around to doing, and which I would really like help with. What we do depends on the time of year, which projects appeal most to your interest and skills, and what are the urgent priorities.

    I have a vacancy for August - it would be good to have someone here for the month to help with gardening.

    From the end of September we will be expanding the garden into new wildflower meadow, herb garden, and orchard. I am looking for volunteers to help with building fences, planting the orchard, winter gardening and pruning, scything the wildflower meadow, hedge laying and planting, looking after chickens.

    Due to the current COVID epidemic we are asking new members of the household to spend a week here at distance before joining the household as normal. We have been isolated with very few external contacts and would like to continue as an idyllic refuge. Its been a great place to be for the past few months, a small community in vast area of incredible countryside. For this reason we also have a preference for long term volunteers who would like to spend time sharing this lifestyle rather than travellers who are just here for a week or two. We would welcome an open discussion about this with you before you arrive, so that we all understand and agree on ongoing social behaviours to maintain a happy household.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Guests may stay in a room in an annex to the house, in guest accommodation or in the house itself.

    You will mostly eat with us. If you are able to help with food preparation that would be appreciated, but it isn't essential if it's really not your thing. Sometimes you may need to self cater, and if you prefer to do this it may be possible, please talk to us beforehand about dietary preferences.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The property is fairly a couple of miles from the nearest public transport, so if you want to spend a lot of time exploring widely through out Kent you would need your own vehicle.

    Some of our guests come by bicycle, and there are many beautiful cycling and walking routes around here. The nearest pub is just a 15 minute walk away, and you can get to local

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (3.7)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 734114819596