Help with our new project to restore an old Victorian walled garden in Cumbria, England

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 37 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.07.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    291

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We have just taken on a new project to restore an old Victorian walled garden which has had little done to it for the past 8 years and now needs a complete re-design. The help will involve a lot of clearing of the area, strimming and removal of old fruit trees; also re-building of paths and stone walls and putting up new fences and trellises and we have now just finished building some kennels and a workshop.

    We live one mile from the village of Lazonby in the Eden Valley which is in North Cumbria, not far from the Scottish border. We are both retired but breed and train working Labradors so you must like dogs to be here. We also have a cat and a small flock of chickens.

    There is a lot of outdoor activities in this area - walking, hiking, fishing, canoeing, cycling etc. There is a railway station within walking distance - this is the Settle to Carlisle line which has steam trains at weekends and during the main holiday times but it also operates a local service to Carlisle but there are not many trains per day and it is used mainly as a commuter service for the mornings and evenings. Other than the train, if you want to go somewhere you will need a car, a bicycle or a lift to Penrith which we can help with and we will involve you in trips out and you will be well fed!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    In the past, most of our workaways have come here to improve their English. The area is very hilly and you will certainly get fit living here.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We had workaway helpers for many years. This year we need strong help in the garden and field. Ideally we would like someone who likes operating gardening equipment. Also we have working Labradors so you must be comfortable with big dogs around you - they are friendly!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and a little French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The house has 4 bedrooms, but currently one of the bedrooms is full of excess furniture - we have only just moved to the house and it is a bit chaotic at the moment. There are 2 bathrooms plus a separate WC. There is a washing machine available for use.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The nearest town is Penrith which is about 8 miles away and the city of Carlisle is about 16 miles away. There are lovely walks along the River Eden from the house and lots of outdoor activities in the area. There is an outdoor swimming pool within walking distance which is open May-September. There is an indoor pool and Sports Hall in Penrith

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5h/day (max 25 hours/week)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 723996853863