new host  

House and cat sitting in rural Galicia, NW Spain

  • Bisher 51 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 6 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello

    We are Pete and Lottie and we live in Galicia, NW Spain. with our three cats and dog. For the past five years we have been renovating our farmhouse, clearing the land and creating a beautiful garden. When we are not working on the house and land, we love to spend time in our studio painting, or enjoying the local beaches and coastal walks, We live in a peaceful rural area, surrounded by woods and fields. We enjoy a simple lifestyle, cooking, growing our own vegetables and living immersed in the beautiful nature that surrounds us. Our three cats are very easy and just require feeding twice a day and of course love! and the house and garden just need routine daily care. cutting the grass, watering the plants, nothing too taxing!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Because of the rural location of the house and the nature of the area, this work away position is not close to any major cities or towns. The local culture is mostly about farming, food and fishing. And of course the Galician bag pipes, Gaita. There are weekly and seasonal markets at Viviero, Ortigueira and Vilalaba. And at different times of the year there are saints days and festivals in the villages and local towns. There is a famous music festival held in Ortigueira each July celebrating Celtic Music from around the world. This year it is being held 11/14 July.
    Within twenty minutes you can be on the beach surfing or swimming or canoeing along the Rio Sor. There are hundreds of kilometres of mountain tracks that are ideal for mountain and off road cycling and hiking. The Agua Caida waterfall is walking distance from the house and the Rio Sor, Spain's cleanest river is 500 m .

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for either a couple or single person to help look after our three cats, our house and garden while we are away visiting our family. This is a great opportunity for someone who is craving real peace and quiet and a break from the hustle and bustle of city life. The house is situated 1km from a main road down a quiet country lane, surrounded by woods and fields. The nearest shopping is at O Barqueiro or Ortigueira, twenty minutes drive away. The house is set in a beautiful and peaceful location, perfect for a writer or artist or anyone wishing for some seclusion and privacy. The cats are very easy and just require your love and feeding twice a day. The garden will need some daily love with watering and some occasional grass cutting too. The house work is just simple every day chores.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The accomodation is a spacious and comfortable bedroom with double bed and ensuite bathroom. There is lots of natural light. Tv, wifi and coffee/tea kettle in bedroom. You will have the use of the house while we are away and washing machine, freezer, fridge etc. You will need your own transport as we will be taking our car. There is no public transport available here. Nearest train\bus station is at Ortigueira (20 minutes by car)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is a great opportunity for anyone wishing to check out of the hustle and bustle of life and get some peace and quiet for a month. With no distractions of modern day life, enjoy the experience of living amongst the trees and birdsong and being immersed in nature. At night listen to the owls calling from the woods, wonder at the stars and in the day, breathe in the fresh pure air and enjoy the simple pleasures that come with living life at a gentler pace.

    Because we use wood for cooking and for heating it is important that our workaway partner is skilled at lighting wood stoves and is super vigilant about fire safety etc

    Loving and feeding the cats is very important too!

    and some knowledge/experience of gardening/strimming!

    We hope that you will love the idea of being in nature and looking after three cats for a month. It really is an idyllic spot but you do need to be able to make your own entertainment and be happy living surrounded by cows and trees!

    In your free time you have this beautiful area to explore, miles of coastal walks and beaches, hiking along the Rio Sor or visiting Santiago de Compostela, 1.45 minutes or A Coruña 1 hr 15 or Ferrol, 50 minutes. Nearby Viviero is a lovely bustling fishing town with some nice places to eat and shops to explore. Ortigueira is the closest town with a choice of supermarkets. The nearest bar is about ten minutes drive away .

    The best part about being here is the peace, the privacy and the stunning beaches and nature. Its a place to recharge your batteries.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Internet is generally good. 4g good. Vodafone phone signal poor but 4g good

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    2hrs per day

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 718856218491

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Experience rural life and learn about the culture and language in Almadrones, Guadalajara, Spain
Beautiful place in the countryside, surrounded by nature, near the sea and near the mountains in Ulldecona, Spain