Help our family in beautiful, historic Tunbridge Wells, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 784 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    89.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 12 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello everyone! We are a friendly family with beautiful 3 year old twins who are absolutely WONDERFUL - but, yikes, have also turned our lives upside down! We are looking for some help to reintroduce some much needed order back into our lives.

    I am originally from Scotland (although I grew up in Africa due to my father's job) and moved here after I married my English husband. I am currently on a career break, looking after the little monkeys and my husband works in the City in London. We have both travelled extensively, love adventure and meeting people from very walk of life. Our home is usually filled with laughter and humour unless there is a Scotland v England match on.... :-)

    We also share our home with 2 lovely little rescue cats.

    We own a beautiful old Victorian property but it is starting to show its age in places and we'd welcome help to help restore it back to its full glory.

    We live in a picturesque, historic town in Kent (Royal Tunbridge Wells) which is also only c50mins by train from the centre of London if you choose to explore the capital. So an amazing combination of the calmness of a lovely town and the buzz of the capital close by!

    It is a fantastic location for so many activities - the town is surrounded with the fabulous countryside and we're also less than an hour from the coast and also from Gatwick (for short getaways to Europe).

    Kent is regarded as the 'Garden of England' and we have lots of farms in the nearby area as well as everything being in the countryside has to offer - walking, hiking, etc and, of course, the fantastic country pubs! Strange to think we are only 50mins from the bustle of London and everything that has to offer too!

    The town itself is fantastic. As well as having all the usual properties of a large town, it also has a beautiful historic part (a five minute walk from us) which hosts jazz festivals and farmer's markets, Christmas markets and so forth. It is popular with the neighbouring and villages. It also has a large array of cafes and every kind of shop and essentially you'll find everything you need here. We do :-)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have hosted for a long time now and have hosted people from all over the world and from all walks of life, those without religion and those with religion, those who've just left school and those who've just retired, vegans, vegetarians and big old meat eaters! Every kind of person with every kind of thought. And we've LOVED it! We love great conversation and laughter and it's been so wonderful to share this with the lovely people passing through our lives via this channel.

    We always try and make the exchange meaningful for each workaway as we appreciate everyone does this for different reasons. Some are looking to improve their English language skills, some are looking to understand more about the British culture, some are on a 'round the world' holiday and others are looking place to stay whilst they develop their own businesses or plans for their future (one of our workaway couples had their first sale for their business whilst with us - champagne all around!). There are many reasons people choose to be workaways and we try to make sure we can make that experience happen for them.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The help required would be:

    - Building projects - anything from general maintenance (painting, putting up shelves) to bigger building tasks (plumbing, electrics, tiling, etc)
    - Support with the garden - it is a fantastic space with so much potential. We also want to build a play area for the children there
    - Support with a clear out - we need to complete a massive clear out, list things on eBay etc
    - Support with the home in general - we sometimes need help with keeping on top of the kitchen and the babies playroom

    We have a long 'to do' list so try to match the help required to your skill set / preference to make it a great experience for all sides!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live in a large house so we are able to provide spacious accommodation for our workaways which also provides privacy for you. Therefore, as well as your bedroom, you have your own kitchen and bathroom too. You also have your own front door (our house has 2 external doors).

    The bedrooms are lovely double rooms (with double beds) and are garden facing so are very quiet. Your kitchen is fully equipped and your bathroom has just been renovated.

    We provide food for all three meals of the day.

    We like to create a balance of spending time together and also making sure everyone has their space so we eat some dinners together and others apart. This has worked really well so far and everyone seems to really appreciate that balance.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a very busy family so it is important travellers are self-sufficient and confident exploring on their own.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 718227573639