Experience family life in an intentional community in Northern NSW, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 40 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live off grid on a beautiful co-operative community in northern NSW. We are a family of five - Emma and Matt work from home and Emma’s retired dad lives in a self contained unit next door. We have 2 daughters aged 3 and 5 who love to go on bush walks, ride their bikes, do craft, puzzles and swim.

    We enjoy cooking and eating together, growing our own food and all manner of diy. Bring your skills in these areas or learn from us! We enjoy meeting all kinds of people and as we have young kids always welcome families. Have as much or as little independence as you desire - we are all about communication and ensuring that everyone gets the best out of your stay :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a laid back and friendly family that enjoy travel and meeting new people. We would welcome you to join the family in daily activities like bush walks, gardening, cooking and sharing a meal.

    Learn how to run a home and manage a young family. Form bonds with the kids and get back in touch with your silly side.

    Learn about community and off grid living. Organic gardening, solar power systems, composting and composting toilets, bush regeneration, diy and building. Learn to drive a tractor or use a chainsaw! Many residents here apply permaculture principles in their own gardens and in raising chickens for eggs. The community orchard or ‘food forest’ is also underway as we move towards self sufficiency.

    Learn about local wildlife like kangaroos, wallabies, kookaburras, goannas and so many more!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There is a lot to do to keep our off grid home running smoothly. Our organic vege patch always needs weeding, watering and planting. The girls always enjoy someone to play with or show around. We are also building a studio that will become a home office so if you have building skills or interested in learning that’s always a possibility. Home repairs, spring cleaning and bush regeneration are also jobs that crop up! We love to learn from you too so if you have any special skills we always try to be flexible so that you can spend your time here doing something that you enjoy :)

    If you are interested in off grid living we can even show you how the water or toilet systems work ;)

    You can also participate in any or all community activities while you’re here. We have pot luck dinners every Friday and a small band of dedicated pool and dart players that stay late. We also meet every second Saturday to work together on roads, fire preparation, waterlines and other community tasks. There are often impromptu music sessions, walks or meet ups to exercise.

    The community is also developing a good forest so there are lots of fruit trees that need care.

    You don’t need any special skills to live off grid - if you are curious and willing to learn there are a million things to do and we all enjoy working together to achieve them.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live on a multiple occupancy community, sharing 500acres of beautiful bush land with 11 other households. There is a large community centre with many facilities including bathrooms, kitchen, snooker table, library, fire pit, footsal, musical instruments and table tennis table. There is a beautiful yoga platform/stage over looking the Pacific Ocean where residents meet for yoga and chi-hung. You are welcome to use the facilities and join in with activities while you stay.

    Our house is about 1km from the community centre. If you would like the full family experience you are welcome to stay with us! We are currently building a detached studio that will be set up for guests. This will be complete in the next couple of months. You can also camp (we have a large tent and comfy mattress if you need) or park a van nearby and use the facilities in the main house as you need.

    Our home has most mod-cons including laundry, dishwasher, WiFi and Netflix.

    If you desire more independence, there is great camping at the community centre. There are also 2 other accommodation options nearby the community centre - the Hexagon and the Hilton. Both are comfortable cabin accommodation that have mattresses and bedding and are insect proof!

    Many of the other residents have accommodation available at their homes too so if you want to spend time with a number of different households you are welcome to discuss this when you inquire.

    We can discuss food and figure out what would work for everyone. We generally eat dinner and breakfast as a family and would encourage/welcome you to join us if you wanted. We do eat meat but many of our meals are vego. Matt is dairy free but the girls and I eat it. That being said we are accommodating of our guests dietary requirements and will always ensure that you are comfortable and well fed.

    If you would prefer, I'm happy to buy groceries that you would need to look after yourself (within reason!) If you're a good cook thats awesome but not essential. We eat a pretty healthy diet and you would have to buy your own treats/snacks if thats your jam (and hide them from the toddler)!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are an hour south of Byron Bay on the new highway. The bundjalung National park is next door with pristine beaches, tea tree creek, camping and bush walks. Evans ahead is 25 minutes away and has excellent surfing. The property itself is stunning and has a lot of beautiful walks.

    You will need your own transport to get the best of the area but we are also happy for you to join us on family outings if you don’t have your own vehicle. If you have a license we could discuss your using the old farm Ute too :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Matt runs his video production company from our home office and Emma manages research projects remotely. There is satellite broadband and plenty of space to co-work. Note that upload/download speeds are sometimes slow on satellite but we make do.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    You can park your van either near our home or near the community centre. Both have kitchen and bathroom facilities. The community centre will give you more independence but there is still a lot of lovely bush land close to our home too.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Approx 4 hours a day - but all totally negotiable


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 713338386533