Come help in my garden and cottage in the beautiful countryside of Oxfordshire, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 260 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.05.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    69.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Lizie. I live in a beautiful 16th century thatched cottage in a little village just outside the city of Oxford. I have a friendly rescue dog, Bonnie, and some pretty bantam chickens. My 2 girls are grown up and have left home. I love being outside, creative gardening and foraging for all the countryside has to offer. I spend my time sowing and growing vegetables, fruit and flowers and I’m involved in community gardening projects for my local villages.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You would discover what life in a beautiful, ancient, Oxfordshire village is like.
    You would learn how to cultivate your own vegetable patch with a view to becoming self-sufficient, or partially self-sufficient… how To keep chickens , how to grow flowers for cutting..... how to harvest and condition them.

    I’d be happy to introduce you to other villagers and to take you to local events of interest.
    Oxford is a vibrant university city with so much to offer culturally and historically.
    The Oxfordshire countryside is beautiful and full of footpaths...I love to take my workawayers to some of the more beautiful sites to walk and possibly swim in the wild swimming spots ...and sample a traditional country pub.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The summer months are very busy for me, growing vegetables and fruit and tending my flowers , so I’m looking for 2 friendly helpers.
    There would be general garden and household jobs…but there’s also plenty of scope for creative garden projects ....and you would learn about growing organically...how to make garden compost, preserving fruit and storing veg.....depending on when you’re here.
    There are often community village projects to get involved with...like tending the newly planted apple orchard...and preparing a plot for the pear orchard.

    General gardening could include tying up and staking plants, grass cutting, digging and weeding. In the house there would be a few odd jobs like cleaning and perhaps cooking a meal. We don’t eat together all the time...but I love to have my workawayers cook their favourite dishes for me from time to time...and I do the same for them.
    I’d be happy to chat with you about the sort of tasks you would prefer to do.


    You would have plenty of time to relax and enjoy the garden and the surrounding countryside.
    There are several beautiful wild swimming spots locally, listed as the most beautiful in England and lots of other local sites to enjoy.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    My workawayers would be sleeping in a small outhouse to the side of the main cottage which has a double bed and space for storing clothes. There is an outside toilet with handbasin just next door and basic cooking facilities in the adjoining garage. Laundry facilities are also in the garage. There is a hot outdoor shower close by in the garden. Guests would have use of the sitting room in the main cottage… a lovely part of the old building with the oldest beams in the house, and great views of the garden. I hardly ever use this room during the summer so you would most likely have it to yourselves.
    There are bicycles and helmets at your disposal for local trips to explore the area.



    The nearest supermarket is about 5K away and I'm happy to take you there when I'm going.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We would be working a maximum of 5 hours , 5 days a week. I'd love you to have plenty of time to explore and enjoy Oxford and the countryside. Toot Baldon is a charming village with a Church and pub/restaurant a few minutes walk from the house.

    The next village also has a beautiful village green and pub ( 10mins walk) There are lots of local footpaths through the lovely Oxfordshire countryside all around. Oxford city, famous for its magnificent colleges, is 15 mins drive away ( about 10k). It's a very lively, university city with many leisure activities….theatres, cinemas, river cruises, punting, historic buildings and much more! A bus runs about every hour to the city. It takes about 20 minutes …the bus stop is 20minutes walk from the house, but you can use bicycles if you like.
    There are beautiful wild swimming spots in the river a bike ride away.

    There is also a very good bus service from Oxford to London…which takes just over an hour . So trips to London are easy on your days off! I'm happy to be flexible about working hours and days.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 694969572533