Werde Teil unserer netten Familie auf einer schottischen Insel in den Highlands, Großbritannien

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 1782 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    73  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    97.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Madainn mhath! (Welcome in Gaelic)

    We're Ian and Jess and we live on a small private tidal island connected to the nearby village of Badachro by a floating footbridge.

    We live here with our three lovely children, aged 14, 12 and 5.

    Ian is the descendent of the ancient Mackenzie clan, whose family has occupied this island since the 11th century!
    Jess is from England and moved up to the highlands to join Ian in continuing his family's legacy of sustainable creel fishing in the surrounding waters.

    We are a lively family always on the move, fishing out at sea, selling our catch at a local market, and hosting visitors in self-catering accommodations on the island.

    Ian and the kids are always dreaming up new projects around the island, and in our free time, we like to interact with our local community playing Scottish music, going on scenic walks and bike rides to the beach to see the rich wildlife around our home.

    We also have a very friendly patterdale terrier called Dubh, Gaelic for black.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We want you to feel at home and to be a part of our family!

    Many of our Workaway volunteers come to our home to improve their English.

    You will have lots of opportunities to learn not only English, but a diverse range of English accents, from Ian's Scottish, Jess's English, and Gaelic from the kids. (Our two oldest daughters are nearly fluent!)

    Our island also offers a great deal of information about Scottish fishing history, and if you wish, coming out with Ian on the boats to see the fishing industry in the UK from a first-hand point of view.

    Visitors to our Island love learning about the local fishing industry so much that a few years ago we started our business to organize professional fishing tours, which you can also experience with us space and weather permitting. We usually go out for tours during the warmer months.

    Outside the island, there is a vibrant local community that makes the absolute best of a rural environment.

    With weekly Scottish Music jam sessions, a cozy coffee shop, library, community centre, and history museum, there is no shortage of activities to involve yourself with. Ian and Jess and all of the kids are active figures in the community and you will be welcomed as if you were a local yourself. The nearest shops are 5 mins so best to bring your favourie snacks with you
    The local pub, the Badachro Inn is within walking distance.
    We have sit on kayaks and bikes available for your use. There are also lovely walks in the area. The nearest sandy beach is 3 miles away.
    Make sure you bring your swimming costume as you will have a chance to use our guest hot tubs

    You may have the chance of seeing pinemartens, otters and deer.
    Also you will certainly be able to enjoy the fabulous night sky and there is a chance during winter time to see the northern lights

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We're looking for self-motivated, driven individuals to help alongside us in taking care of our island,

    Examples of help are cutting the grass, painting, trimming back wild paths, and of course, helping us to love and look after our three children.

    As per the norm with Workaway we ask no more than 5 hours of active help for 5 days a week.

    We are very much an 'around the clock' family so we recommend that Workaways can adapt to a hectic schedule that having a family typically requires.

    We cannot always actively manage our volunteers so especially for the younger travellers it's very important that you do not always wait for us to ask for help, but for you actively seek out projects and help where you know you can be the most helpful.

    Please be prepared to give a helping hand not only during the day but also around mealtimes. We love for Workaways to share with us their recipes from home!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Gaelic (Scottish): Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We offer our Workawayers a small private bedroom in our home with a beautiful view of the sea.

    Our whole island operates a high-speed wifi connection.

    Of course, we love for our Workaways to share in all meals with us, as well as to feel at home helping themselves to tea and coffee whenever needed.

    We eat a diverse diet of traditional Scottish food like Ian's famous Mince and Tatties, Jess's British curries, and all the cakes and cookies the girls can dream up.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is no public transport around Badachro but you can arrive by bus to Gairloch via the Westerbus leaving from Inverness.

    We will pick you up in the car when you arrive!

    While you're here you have access to our collection of bikes to get around the area, and we are always commuting to and from nearby Gairloch should you want to hitch rides with us during your free time.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.7)
















































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 692155785162