Learn English, guitar,swim and paddle in the lake and sing with a fun, loving family in Ontario, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 62 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.03.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Aloha! Namaste! We are a fun, musical, Canadian family from Barrie, Ontario looking for someone to join our family as we help our father with his recovery from a brain injury. It's been two and. half years now of him recovering and he's improved a lot. He can have a full conversation with you as his cognition is pretty normal - he just has problems with his balance so he uses his walker with us to be safe.

    In the summer we like to go down to the water and go for a walk around the lake. We like to swim in our backyard pool and have fires in our fire pit and relax and tell stories. We also like to play fun improv/drama games or other board games. Sometimes we have little music circles with different, simple instruments. We have guitars, xylophone, bongos and a full drum kit. We like watching movies.

    We could use help around the house for light house work (laundry, cleaning dishes and kitchen, cooking meals, sweeping/vacuuming.) We've found that when you are cooking for yourself to just cook extra and we can share meals!

    Our grandma lives down the street and could use help with a few things like, "taking out her garbage or having her lawn mowed weekly" and "weeds pulled" which she would pay you for.

    The family consists of the parents (66 years old) and their 30 year old son. We live in a city called Barrie that has a beautiful lake with many activities to try during the summer such as boating (stand up paddle boarding or dragon boating). We live in a neighbourhood with multiple forests that have lovely, tranquil hikes that all lead to small beaches and the lake.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The son teaches dragon boating all summer and has done so for 8+ years. Unfortunately due to covid it has been cancelled this summer so I bought a Stand Up Paddle Board instead. He'd also be happy to teach you guitar and show you around our city and its surrounding area. We live close to ski hills during winter months and live 40 minutes away from the longest, freshwater beach in the world called, Wasaga Beach, a must visit. Also lots of waterfalls to visit 1 hour North or Niagara falls in a few hours away.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Sharing meals is helpful - so when you make your own meals, it's nice to make extra so we can share and we would try to do the same. The son cooks a lot for himself as he eats mostly a plant based diet. You’ll have a lot of free time. Mainly we just need an extra person in case the son is out the mom needs and random support with tasks . It’s safest to have an extra person around. My dad is pretty happy sitting and watching his baseball games or listening to music, he’s independent in that way. Don’t necessarily need you to hang out with him, but just be around in case we need an extra hand especially if the son is out as my parents are getting older

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own bedroom and a shared bathroom/shower. Your welcome to borrow my bicycle or go for a paddle on my paddle board. The basement is not used often, other than practicing singing and guitar on the sound system but the basement is a place to give you some extra private space if you need some more alone time !

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Things to do in our town:

    Guided Meditation/Dance Studio - there is a cool studio about 20 minutes from our town that offers guided meditations as well as a variety of dance class (hip hop, tribal, ecstatic)

    Downtown: many outdoor patio's and a brewery called Flying Monkey's by the lake.

    Rowing Club: a cheap, summer membership allows you to rent different water vessels (kayaks, canoe's, paddle boards) in the summer and go paddling on our beautiful lake.

    Choir: there is a weekly, fun, inclusive choir at a restaurant in our town where you sing while you eat food and drink. It's extremely fun and helpful for your singing voice - NOT CURRENTLY RUNNING DUE TO COVID

    English Conversation Circle: our town library offers a weekly get together for all the 'newcomers' in Barrie to get together and practice their English as well as make new friends. You'll meet people from all over the world, make friends, and improve your English. - I BELIEVE A VIRTUAL CLASS IS RUNNING DUE TO COVID

    Outdoor Yoga Classes

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Good wifi connection

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Park on the street in the summer time. May be able to accommodate driveway parking in winter (cannot park on street in winter)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 1-2 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 689248663235