Help out around our smallholding in the very typical and rural french countryside of Mayenne near Bretagne, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 40 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.08.2019

  • Abzeichen

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello,
    we are Pauline (30) & Cédric (31). We live in a 5 hectares smallholding in the very typical and rural french countryside of Mayenne near Bretagne. We are breeding a french goat rare breed : the "Des fossés" goats, to help us weed the fields along the horse, Valino, the free-ranging (a bit too free actually) hens, 3 very tiny cows and our two cats. The farm is in a nature reserve where we are able to watch interesting wildlife around the ponds and the old oak trees. We are running the smallholding organically.
    Cédric is a software designer fond of his motorbikes and I'm an organic dairy farming adviser keen on horseriding, reading, antique shopping & cooking!
    We live a simple and active life rythmed by the animal care and nature. We're often at home as we are both partially homebased for our works so you would be able to enjoy company for lunch.

    We are one hour away from Rennes (Brittanny's capital) and 30 mins from Laval. We often go for a day by the sea which is one hour and a half away and of course we'd be happy for you to come with us. The village is 3 kms away and a nice bike ride can take you to various little shops. There's a nautic base in the village famous for its wakeboard (so much fun!). The area is full of old castles and abbey.We can lend you a bike to tour the countryside and of course you can join us when we go on shopping trip in town.

    We very much look forward meeting new people and learning about them !

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    we both want to learn about your culture and we will be able to speak with you in fluent English and French. I'm a keen cooker so if you want to learn french recipes I can help! I (Pauline) am also very fond of herbal remedies and make my own tisane both for me and the animals, I can help you learn a bit about it if you're interested in! Cédric is a very handy man and you can enjoy building things with him.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have masses of different projects running on :

    - you can try your hand a building a hen house
    - if you like to do some gardening our veggie patch need a bit of tender loving care and of course the mower and the strimmer are needed around the farm for most of the summer months
    - 10 Goats, a horse, two adorables miniature cows and cats await your care : feeding them, watering them, training them (ex: to walk on a lead)
    - Basically building a lots of things in wood : barn door, wood fences
    - the barn could do with a lick of paint, you can learn how to make cheap, very efficient and organic outdoor paint!

    Of course, we don't expect of you to do all this stuff except if you're happy about everything it's just all the stuff we need help for and if you feel you can help for one thing or the other we'd be happy to welcome you !!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    French, English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A bedroom in the house overlooking the nearby castle and our fields. The bathroom is shared with us.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    non-smoker only
    wakeboard park in the village

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

view on the fields from the kitchen


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 686735966469