Come be a part of our family and help us pursue our dream of self-sufficiency in Dorotea, Sweden

Country

Schweden

aktualisiert  

Bisher 316 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a small family who need help with our small farmstead here in the south of Swedish Lapland. This is a part of Sapmi, the land of the Sami people, to where the settlers came as late as in the 18th century. But in the last 50 – 60 years many homesteads here has been deserted, our place is no exeption, and we now work to re-settle this farm. However there are still some old people around who have been smallholders and who knows what it means to live without stores, electricity and roads!

    Our family consists of Pauline (31), Jon (46) and our little son Haldor (3). Sometimes also Gry (13) lives with us. Here we have goats, chickens and rabbits for the household and a cat who helps out with the rats.

    The farmstead is located in a village in the northern hinterland, near a beautiful lake and surrounded by the taiga. This is the land of light: in summertime the sun almost never goes down and in winter we have a lot of white snow, a sky full of stars and, of course, sometimes the northern light! We love living by, with and in the nature. Our mission is to be as self-sufficiant as we can and in some areas we've come far. Right now the farm is under strong development. Among other things we are interested in permaculture, how it works and how to use it in our own way.

    We welcome volunteers who wish to learn about all kind of self-sufficiency and to whom it is important to leave a small footprint. The work can be hard and it is not always a bed of roses: the seasons and the weather may demand work to be done promptly and there is a lot of manual work. On the other hand, body work outdoors lets your brain rest and improves your wellness. You get so much satisfaction and joy when you see what you have accomplished, when you put your own food on the table and form your being.

    We live quite simple with no running water or sewer and we have a privy outside. The water we draw up manually and all our food is cooked on a wood stove, which also heats the house. In the summertime we also often cook above an open fire. The lake nearby is perfect for swimming and fishing.

    We eat meat from the farm, fish from the lake, home grown potatoes, vegetables and wild plants, the rest we buy from our local store, mostly flour, oats and dairy products. We try to buy organic and as little imported food as possible.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will have the opportunity to learn about selfsufficency, ecology, farming, forestry, animal care, milking and making chees, wild plants and a lot more.

    We also do a lot of different handcrafts and if you are interested we could teach some in the speartime. If you play any acoustic instrument you are more than welcome to bring it.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The primary work we need help with is the daily animal care, milking, weeding, gardening and cooking. Larger projects will be haymaking, harvesting, fencing, making firewood and picking berries. Perhaps also some building may be relevant.
    We take into account if you have any special knowledge, skills or interests that might be relevant for us (subjects related to farming, survival, crafts, building, know-how etc), so please tell us about you and what expectations you have so that we can arrange your stay in the best way .

    It takes a lot to be self-sufficient and sometimes it can be really tuff with a lot of hard work and long days, so we want you to be prepared for that. We would be gratful if you help us with all the work on the farm, we would really need it, and at the same time you will have the chans to fully experience our way of life.

    But we also hope you will have a lot of fun here with us, learn more about our culture and make great memories!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Room in a simple, unheated, separate house with a privy. There is electricity but no running water.

    If you rather prefer camping we have tents or if you want to bring your one caravan it's fine to.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You will need good working clothes, solid shoes (waterproof), working gloves, rainwear, a sleeping bag and a knife. It can be a good idea to have indoor slippers with you and a headlamp might be useful (especially in spring and autumn) as well as nets for the mosquitoes in summer.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.6)

Kommunikation: (4.6)











Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 686133165453