Rural life, cultural exchange, language immersion, gardening and creative arts in Minas de Oro, Honduras

Country

Honduras

new host  

Bisher 6 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hear the call from Central America. Nestled in the mountains of central Honduras is Minas de Oro, a 5,000 people municipality that has been home to my family since the mid 1800’s. At 1000 meters above sea level, it is a quiet and quaint village with small coffee farms as its main economic driver. I am Miguel, a retired college professor and world traveler. Now, I am fulfilling a life-long dream of remodeling the family’s 90 year-old house and designing and creating spaces for artists, artisans, educators, and optimistic souls from around the world. Most of the construction and remodeling is completed and opportunities for painting, furniture building, limestone carving, and other maintenance work is available depending on interest and skills. The land is being transformed from a small coffee farm to a mini food-forest and more significantly, to a flower garden to attract birds, bees, butterflies and beings of all kind. I am applying permaculture (PDC 2017) and sustainability principles to the management of the land and look forward to having you spend some time helping with plant nursery, building walking trails, fences, flower beds, wooden bridges, stone sculptures, wood trellises and more gardening features. The goal is to bring in plants, insects, birds and people to a diversified continent of colors, sounds, textures, aromas, and tastes. Chickens run free through the property. Plans are underway to create chicken fenced-in spaces to allow them to enjoy what the land offers in a managed rotational approach so new plants can thrive. Three friendly outdoor dogs keep the opossums away from the chickens and the squirrels from eating the mangoes, merlitons and avocados during their seasons. The dogs are also great company for the afternoon hikes around town.
    I strongly support healthy people in healthy communities. I am fully vaccinated against Coronavirus and Influenza. I hope you are too.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Language immersion, rural life, appreciation of stillness, creative arts, love of nature

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Gardening, general house maintenance, carpentry, creative arts, creative cooking, painting, and other duties as discovered.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There will be a dedicated bedroom with private bathroom for your stay. Internet is available most of the time, except when there is a power outage, usually 1 - 2 times a month. You will have access to the kitchen to prepare breakfast and supper. For lunch you are welcome to join me in preparing a basic meal. Hopefully you enjoy cooking and can share your expertise in a well equipped kitchen. I will be happy to stock food items for your creativity to flourish. You will enjoy our coffee, it is magical.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are surrounded by nature, off the beaten path, and life in the village is very, very quiet. Please be aware that this opportunity is for people who like experiences in remote places in the middle of tropical surroundings. It is expected you are self-driven, able to work independently, and have an eye for what can be done next. The closest large urban area is Tegucigalpa at 120 Kms. There are about three daily bus departures to and arrivals from Tegucigalpa every day. Cost is about six US dollars and it takes about 3.5 hours transit time. I travel to Tegucigalpa once per month to buy supplies and some food items not available in town. You are welcome to travel along. The new international airport (XPL) in Comayagua is 80 Km away. A daily bus is available and the ride is through pristine mountain scenery. Local outings are usually organized to visit neighbors around their coffee plantations (at 1600 meters altitude) to search for new plants and to learn from their farming practices.
    As an adolescent many years ago, I was an exchange student to the United States so, I do appreciate the life-energizing experiences Workaway may provide for you and for me as your host.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 684551951186