A small slice of paradise inhabited by a sweet little library and an artistic oasis near San Isidro, Intibuca, Honduras

  • Bisher 131 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 21 Feb. 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Before I get started, please take note that Workaway has my location tagged in the wrong place on their map. Please look up Macuelizo, San Isidro, Intibuca on Google maps to make sure you understand where you think you are going. Thanks.😉😊

    Hi! My name is Aura. I live amongst and work with children and families here in the mountains of a coffee-producing region of Honduras. My home hosts a small library that is open and available to this community that, until now, isn't very familiar with books.
    My hope is to help develop and enrich the lives of these children and young adults, and give the one's that have an incredible creative nature, a place to create artistically, as well as materials with which to do it.

    One of my passions is art, especially painting and sculpture. I have a BFA in sculpture, and immensely appreciate delving into, and collaborating with others in the creative process, whether it be art, writing, landscaping, gardening, sewing, or culinary delights.

    At present, we're working at painting murals in the village"s public school- and I welcome, with open arms, any traveler that desires to contribute to this endeavor.

    Another passion of mine is flower and vegetable gardening. Although I prefer the permaculture approach to gardening and life, I do humor myself with trying to keep vegetable crops in my garden. (Weeding is always a challenge, however, as weeds in a tropical environment are happier than ducks in a pond...)

    The outreach that I offer to the community is primarily aimed at creative enrichment and literacy. The space that I've made available for the community children is a place where they come to paint, draw, study, bake, play, laugh, sew, and visit. My hope is that any workaway volunteer will feel the same freedoms to do likewise, share their inspiring project ideas, and relate to the children on a personal, casual level. I appreciate Waldorf education principles, and strive to integrate them into my work with the children. In my past I was trained in, and later taught in waldorf early-education and very much enjoy the many beautiful aspects involved in the pedagogy.

    During the Honduran school year, which runs from the beginning of March to early November, I tutor Spanish reading skills and basic math concepts (addition and subtraction) to the children that struggle to learn them in school.

    I offer organized art activities year round, as well as organized English classes; (which serve wonderfully as "bilingual classes" for any workaway volunteer who would like practice in either English or Spanish). I love to have volunteers who aren't too shy to try helping conduct English classes😉😊

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I speak fluent english and spanish that is fluent, but not perfect. A visitor will have language and cultural immersion, as well as many opportunites to accompany the natives in their daily life activities. There is a mine of cultural gems that could be discovered by those that are willing to explore and relate.
    Any time of year is a good time to be here getting to know the local culture, and getting involved in daily life.
    Those travelers that are interested in picking coffee should come between November to February.
    Those that are interested in working with children during their school year should come between March and October. (However, since one of our houses hosts a library, children frequent the premises all year round.)
    April and May are hot, dry, dusty and smoky.
    The remaining months are a comfortable 75°-85° F, often rainy, and quite pleasant.
    In any season, the children and I love to play baseball, soccer, and swim in the river.
    I will also add that any artist that is looking for a place for an extended stay in order to be able to work on their art, is welcome to use this space as an "artist in residence" type studio.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    For the artístic and creative, there are many opportunities to share your passions. skills and inspiration with many interested youngsters. Or, simply immerse and lose yourself in your own creative world to work on your body of art.

    Any garden lovers are welcome to find their space or corner to try new things, or simply help me keep up with weeding, watering and harvesting. At the present time I'm working through an intense landscaping project that involves the remodeling of a bodega that we have on the property, and would appreciate help with design ideas, as well as figuring out the best type of roof and window arrangement.

    During the school year I invest alot of time in tutoring. And anyone willing to give a hand with that will not regret the impact they leave on the childrens' lives.

    Lastly, I will say that it is very important to me that any volunteer can take basic instructions and decide for themself how to execute a task according to their own strengths, talents and preferences.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There are two houses on the property, and to my volunteers, I offer a private bedroom with a padlock in the guest house, which also houses the library/learning center. Depending on which room is available, you will be given a double bed, or single bed and semi-private bathroom with hot, running water. Visitors are welcome to share meals, or cook and eat on their own time and in their preferred space. Personally, for me, a late afternoon meal time is a special daily event that is always full of interesting conversation, and is a pleasant time to relax, and to forge and nourish new friendships. I try to keep a well-stocked kitchen. But the truth is, everyone up here eats "typical mountain food"-eggs, chicken, fresh milk, homemade cheese and yogurt, beans, corn tortillas, rice, bananas, other seasonal fruits, vegetables and delicious fruit juices and amazing coffee. We have electricity, and Wi-Fi, but during rainy season frequent lightning storms often cause power outages.
    Our dog Pepita believes that every work away volunteer comes here to meet her! So be prepared- she's a very happy ball of energy!
    And her side kick Julula, will be just as happy to make your acquaintance- but definately from a distance. (She's shy). And last, but not least, the newest addition to the "puppy patrol" -Cleomi- a charming, ferocious, 3 month old minuscule little furball. Other than them, I don't have any other animals.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    During your stay, you'll be welcome to accompany me on (or explore on your own) frequent trips to the river, and hiking excursions in the mountains, as well as outings to pick mangos, oranges or whatever the seasonal fruit may be. Playing soccer is another favorite pastime here in the village, and baseball, where ever a game may unfold.

    The sunrises, sunsets, and summer thunderstorms here tend to be amazing.
    Camping is easy to arrange in the mountain forests.

    For those that would like to experience coffee-picking, there are choice opportunities.

    Neighbors will lend horses for riding, and motorcycles for exploring. We are "dirt-roads", and few-cars.

    There are a few daily busses that come and go from the nearest town an hour away, as well as to the next larger town 2 hours away. Bus fare is $1.50-$3 each way. The new international airport XPL is an easy 2-3 hour bus ride from home. I am about 4 hours from Tegucigalpa, 4 hours from San Pedro Sula, and 2 hours from Siguatepeque.

    I am ready to answer any questions you may have, and give as many more details as you may need about the area and lifestyle.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Small, van sized vehicles would fit inside the parking area

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 526711721731

Feedback (6)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.7)










Help at our hostel in the city of the Ceiba, Honduras
Help with an organic garden and build a cottage in San Juancito, Honduras