Help in our organic garden and live in a museum of Kichwa Culture in Andes, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

new host  

Bisher 19 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.12.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Luzmila and René, responsible for our project. It's a community project of 21 indigenous Kichwa families. In 2011, we bought an old textile factory, where for centuries Kichwa workers were exploited and abused, and turned it into a vivid center of Kichwa culture, including a Living Museum of customs and traditions. We receive tourists to share with them our knowledge of our traditions, and started recently during the pandemic to dedicate ourselves to organic gardening, producing vegetables and fruits for the families of the project and also for our farm animals. We live here with our family which includes a (very talkative) grandma, our two sons (26 and 29 years old), our daughter in law and several cats and dogs. Also, a longtime volunteer is helping us, Natalie from Germany, who speaks fluent English, French and German.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You are literally going to live in a museum, so you won't help learning a lot about the indigenous Kichwa culture. This includes traditions, way of life, clothes, Kichwa language, handicraft, music, the local history etc. You could also learn more about weaving as we have a workshop here. As you are going to live with a Kichwa family, you are going to be part of our everyday life. Whenever there are festivities like Inti Raymi, weddings, community meetings etc., you can accompany us.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    René would like some help working in the garden, e.g. planting and tending the vegetables and the compost, caring for the animals (cows, chicken, pigs, rabbits) and building and repairing fences. You don't have to know anything about gardening, he will show you what to do. If you have experience though and want to share it with him, he will be very happy!
    Sometimes when tourists come who don't speak Spanish, you could also help us translating.

  • Languages

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Spanish: Fließend
    English: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You are going to have your own room with a comfortable bed and a good internet connection. The bathroom is shared. We offer you three delicious meals a day.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The center of Otavalo is in walking distance from the museum (20-25 min). There you can find many nice shops, the famous Plaza de los Ponchos with its handicraft market, churches, cafés... Around Otavalo, there are several waterfalls, lakes, volcanos to climb on... By bus you can reach the towns Cotacachi and Atuntaqui (15 min), Ibarra (40 min) or even go to Quito (2h).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have a very good internet connection and a quiet office for you to work.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have plenty of space for camping cars of every size.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    You are welcome to bring your pets, even though they should get along with our dogs.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Máximo 4-5 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 681398968998