Farmarbeit in Kanada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 264 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.08.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    620

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello!

    Everything is still all topsy-turvy in the world, but here on our little farm life carries on. Our road washed out last spring as well and our detour is pretty terrible, so we find staying home is really easy right now! We want you to know that if you need somewhere to go to escape the world for a time; somewhere you can eat some great food and help to grow some great food and help out on the farm and just relax, we are here.

    We are currently looking for someone (or a couple) who would like to help out with the garden and yard and also if you are looking for somewhere to go for the end of April, to help out with some prep-cook tasks. At the end of April we will be hosting a camp of 10 tree planters for about 2-3 weeks. They will not be staying in the house (we have a second house on the property as well as a few camping trailers) and all appropriate covid safety protocols will be followed. I (Terri), will be doing the cooking for the crew and I could use some help with meal prep and clean-up and also help in the garden.

    In early May we will be welcoming 5 sheep and an as-yet-to-be-determined number of lambs and their guardian dog to the farm. We may also be getting pigs and possibly some meat chickens. Setting up for these new arrivals and care of them once they are here is also something you could help with. We also have 3 indoor/outdoor cats.

    Other tasks may include: gardening! I love the garden and I love talking about the garden, teaching gardening, being in the garden, etc :) (we will also be setting up a passive solar heated bathtub in my greenhouse this year!), helping us get firewood, helping to preserve food for winter, helping with harvest, general organizing and cleaning up around the farm.

    People who come here must like solitude and be good at spending time alone (or as a couple if you're a couple) and entertaining yourself/yourselves. We have tons of books and movies, and a sometimes decent internet connection and we will hang out with you some of the time when we're around, and take you for hikes to the beautiful spots close by, but you will sometimes also be on your own as we also like to quietly work on our own projects and need people who come here to be happy to not spend every minute with us. We have a few rooms in the house and also a sleeping loft that is almost finished above the garden shed. We also may be working on other outdoor sleeping areas (we have a really cool bus that would be an awesome guest 'house').

    I am also in the process of launching my online felting business. I make and sell needle-felting kits and creatures and other bits of magical art. And we both love to be creative and often have a few different art projects on the go. (We are also both burlesque performers, though at the moment that is no longer happening).

    When we are hosting we treat people like they are part of the family. I don't care what experience people have farming, just being willing to learn and happy to be a part of life here is what is important. We love to meet new people and we enjoy our rural lifestyle. We do eat meat, but not daily, and we (mostly) only eat ethically-sourced meat (local beef, wild meat, etc). I also love to cook vegetarian as well, and we are happy to host vegetarians. Vegans and people with other dietary restrictions are welcome, but you may find it more difficult and you may not be happy here. I come from a family of sustainable cattle ranchers and I have seen firsthand that cattle managed well can really be very healing to the land (though badly managed livestock and industrially raised animals are terrible for the planet) while monocultures of soy are very destructive. One's food choices are one's own.

    We are looking for interesting and interested people who would like to help out and learn in a relaxed environment but who are also independent, hard-working and don't mind the isolation. What you get out of your stay with us will be up to you.

    We look forward to meeting you.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Because we are so rural, this is a very different way of life than many people are used to. People learn to be alone with their thoughts if they are not used to so much silence. You can learn all sorts of rural-living skills depending on your interests. We also really love making art and both of us do love to teach different art skills. Terri has a literature degree and an art diploma; if you're interested she can teach you everything you never wanted to know about Shakespeare, and she knows a lot about gardening too :) We both love to cook because we both love to eat good food and we can teach you some things about cooking and preserving food. We also plan to do much more wild food gathering this year. We have varied interests, and we love to meet new people and share stories and laughter.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Tasks vary with the seasons and throughout the week. Most of the work is in the garden and around the yard. Some cleaning, possibly some cooking. Sometimes we'll be working with you, sometimes you'll be on your own.
    Generally there is a building project or two going on as well.
    If you have any special skills you would like to put to use let us know and we can find you your own project.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have either a room in the house for colder months, a comfortable motor home, a really cool sleeping loft above the garden shed and various camper vans and trailer. Because our home is solar-powered we must be careful with our power/water use, so please be aware of this and be considerate. Our internet is not great (xplornet).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a long ways from town so having your own vehicle is an asset. For the moment though it is not really possible to drive a car out here. Our detour is 4 x 4 only, though it should be fine for a car soon. On your time off, there is much wilderness to explore and we like to take people hiking around here. There is also a river and a creek for swimming nearby and when we're home and the weather is warm we usually go to the creek to swim every day. There used to be fun social outings, but for the moment those have all been suspended. But we do still have a few people over to sit around a fire in the yard sometimes, and of course, the tree planters will be here at the end of April.

    Now that there are no more Greyhound buses getting to us may be tricky without your own vehicle. It's not impossible, but we are an 8 hour drive from Vancouver.

    (Smoking is fine on the property, but not in the house).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a farm, we have lots of space!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 25 hours a week, 2 days off













Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 6689629824d8