Help wit a bit of painting and other home projects in Carlisle, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 62 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.05.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 19 Tage

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a father of 2 children, both grown up. I teach mathematics to children aged 11 to 16 years of age and am also a photographic artist. I practice yoga / meditation and believe that we should treat each other with love and kindness. A simple approach to life, but it works for me! :)

    So my current story, is that I have recently bought a home in Cumbria England, returning to the Lake District after a few of years away. For those who do not know this area, it is said to be the most beautiful place in England, if not the world! :) Poets, artists and indeed anyone who enjoys the outdoors and nature will love this area. However my new home now needs a few little jobs done here and there. So help me and I will do my best to help you! 🙏 especially if you want to explore the Lake District! 😊

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I know this area very well and have walked just about every mountain in this region....I can offer advice on wild camping, walking, climbing. I have kit and maps etc that I could lend and I can also offer some mountain guiding to some of the nicer spots.

    I am a maths teacher up to GCSE level and a photographic artist with much knowledge in these areas, so could offer some tuition to those interested. And obviously, I can offer some help in learning English as a 2nd language, although I have no language teaching experience.

    In general, I know a little about a lot of things and can provide a decent converation (in English) for all those interested. 😊

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The help I need is general home maintainance type work; like painting and painting preparation work. Some general plastering/carpentry/building skills maybe be useful too. Outside also needs some work on the drive and some gardening too. Somebody able to cook and perform some general cleaning duties would be also be very useful. Dont worry about having all the skillls listed, as I am flexible to place any volunteers according to their strengths.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and a little French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers will sleep in their own bedroom. All the rooms now decorated and carpeted! There are all the usual creature comforts too. 😊

    I am an aspiring vegan, so meat or dairy products would not be on the menu.
    Food: help yourself in the morning for breakfast; for lunch and evening meal one of us can cook, the other support the endeavour. Weekends will be a sort yourself situation with only breakfast provided.

    Clearer guidelines on house rules will be provided closer to any volunteer arriving :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The nearest city is Carlisle, a city on the border with Scotland and rich in culture and history, which is just 30 minutes drive away. There are good transport links from here to Scotland and its capital of Edinburgh and also Glasgow. The major English city of Newcastle is a short train or bus journey too.

    Keswick at the heart of the Lake District is only 20 minutes drive away, offering a great variety of outdoor activities from hiking to mountain biking to paragliding.

    So all in all, city life or the great outdoors can be within easy reach.

    It must be noted that tansport is a bit limited in this rural location. It is a 45 minute walk to the nearest town of Aspatria with bus and train links. The nearest bus stop is 20 minutes walk away( 1mile). However, I can offer a bicycle for people to use and an occasional lift when needed. :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The view from my home...
a recent walk near Keswick
A view of my place from the right hand side. My house is the first house here.
my cottage is one of four and is on the right hand side of this picture

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 659932149165