Practice and play with my kids in English in San Gil, Colombia

  • Kolumbien
  • Bisher 21 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 02.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, I am Helmer, I live with my wife, Lorena; and my 3 year old son, Matias. We both are Colombian that teach English at a public institute in San Gil, Santander. We are host with experience in intercultural exchange due to our active in receiving foreigners through Couchsurfing. Our son is growing up and we’d like now host women workawayers to stay longer at our place in order to increase their experience with a local family for more than a week, practicing with my son who speaks already English; in addition, you can improve your Spanish (Matias also speaks Spanish) learn about our customs, gastronomy, know our education system, and even more. You can join my classes and interact with more local people.

    There is no need that the workawayers have plenty of experience in childcare and masters teaching English to kids, no! That is our job as parents. Matias and I use English to comunicate each other all day long, but he uses Spanish with momy and at school. The volunteer would spend time with my son practicing English while playing with him, help him to have his things done and take him to school, and why not, you may teach him some of your abilities. You’ll get support form us, you'll be trained in order to see from us how all these go before you do by yourself. We know that a happy helper produces the best results and his stay becomes much more pleasurable.
    I would like also my child have a intercultural interchange with you.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The volunteer will have the opportunity to live with a local warm family, learn or practice a new language “Spanish” and also interact with my students where the place I work. San Gil is the touristic capital of Santander, so many nature and extreme outdoor activities wait for you. At about 50 minutes by bus you can reach the Chicamocha Canyon, the biggest in Colombia and one the the best in America.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    My son speaks English and that is something really important for us as parents, I mean, to keep in touch with that second Language. He knows Spanish, thought. So basically this is what you would do on the weekday mornings. Spend the first two hours of the day with him helping Matias get ready to school and take him there at 8am. Matias has the following routine. Get up, have breakfast, organice his bedroom, brush his teeth, take a shower, put his uniform on and go to school. My wife and I prepare food for Matias and for the volunteer also, but that is something you also could help us with. It’s not your duty, however. Matías knows how to do all his routine by himself, but he needs sometimes support and guidance. After 8am, you’ll have the time to visit places nearby, or do your personal stuffs at home, etc.
    From 6 to 8am, two or three days a week my wife and I won’t be able to stay there with you because we should leave early to work.
    In the afternoons he has classes from 2 to 4. So there will be only one day of the week where you would pick him from school at noon, have lunch, take him back to school at 2pm and pick him up at 4 and be with him until 6pm, because I come back home from work at that time. The other 4 weekdays afternoon you also have free time.
    In the evenings, Matias goes to bed about 8 pm, sometimes earlier, and before he goes to sleep we play, spend time asking questions about school in order to improve language communicative skills, so you could join us, but it’s not a rule.

    On weekends we go out to visit friends nearby, go to a restaurant, visit a small town, visit relatives, have fun in general, and you can absolutely join us. That’ll be fun and a great opportunity for you to know what locals do on weekends. :)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    At home we have a private room for the volunteer, free wifi, a bathroom for you, hot water, washing machine and a beautiful balcony with a great view point of San Gil. The apartment is very convenient, just 20 minutes away form the bus terminal and 5 min to the downtown, all by feet.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is always something interesting to do in San Gil. You can visit several towns nearby, each with something great to visit and fall in love. You can go hiking, bike riding, paragliding, caving, rafting, rappelling, go swimming in the rivers, and more. But also you can have join me at work and develop educative projects with my students.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    There is wifi and good accommodation for you to work in your spare time.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 659535329643

Feedback (4)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Kleiner Bauernhof in Kolumbien braucht Hilfe mit der Einrichtung einer Website und auf dem Land
Help with my space dedicated to the dissemination of science in Santa Elena, Medellín, Colombia