Come and help us on our small ecological farm and learn about subsistence farming on Southern Vancouver Island, Canada



Bisher 156 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Learn subsistence farming on a century farm with 15 acres of sunny escarpment with almost 360 degree views, maple forests and river swimming. Join us on our daily rounds, running the farm and still have lots of time to explore this stunning part of the world.

    We are a small ecological veg and cider apple hobby farm. We do it for the lifestyle and the joy of abundance. One of us works also works "off-farm". The 2 of us are pioneer spirits, with over 60 yrs homesteading experience between us and have lots to share, if interested. One of us is also a seasoned carpenter, the other is a horticulturist. We also have an entertaining and adorable Boston terrier who likes to chase a ball.

    Looking for folks who are physical types by nature, willing helpers and fluent in English. On the farm we work hard and schedule the day so that everybody can still have lots of time to enjoy this piece of paradise. Beautiful walks on farm, river swimming, amazing sunsets and star-gazing big skies at night. Lifestyle is really important to us and we like to have fun.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We love hearing about people's travels and their home countries and food. One of us has done volunteering in NZ so that we'd know what it's like to be on the other side of the exchange.

  • Arbeit


    We really want you to have a good time while you're here and will offer variety as much as possible. We need help with with our subsistence crops, seeding, hoeing, mulching, etc. There might be some building, trail work, land stewardship, fencing, firewood, etc. People with carpentry or farming experience would be great but positive attitude and willingness to learn is important too. The trade is 5 days/week at 5hrs/day. We are hoping for 2 week stays.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You will have a private self-contained cottage to stay in with hot shower, flush toilet, fridge, cooking facilities and sleeping for either 2 together or 2 separately, if travelling together. Pairs work well for us, gender irrelevant and we are very rainbow friendly. You tell us what you'll be needing for groceries for the week so you can do your own cooking in the cottage. You will be comfortable and eat well and we have lots of yummy fresh fruit and veg growing on the farm in season too. Once a week we like to share a dinner together at the farmhouse.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our farm is on the bus route and for $2.50 it's possible to go so many places. Cowichan Bay village, Chemainus street murals, the Totem pole tour or the Saturday Farmers Market in Duncan, winery tours, craft breweries, music festivals, kayak rentals, hiking, lake swimming, use of our bicycles. The city of Victoria is an hour's drive or bus ride. Nanaimo is 45min. We can pick you up in Duncan & back.

    Because of the extreme forest fire risk in summers, we can't take smokers; sorry but it's just too risky.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 655859638682