Join us in the Algarve of Portugal (Loule) 4 to 5-month project

Country

Portugal

aktualisiert  

Bisher 98 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.08.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    623

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I'm a retired woman living in a typical rural Algarve house, 4.7km from the town of Loule and 15min (by car) from the sea. I am COVID vaccinated and require proof of vaccination. Am an American entrepreneur retired from: restaurateur, IT company owner, forest wildfire fighter and Mountain Search & Rescue volunteer. I am a Mother and Grandmother.

    I'm in need of help from September to February year 2022/2023. I prefer couples (but am open to single persons) to stay for minimum of 1 week and, if it feels right for ALL of us then for the full 5-months.

    SOME of the time we'll work together on projects and sometimes not together depending on the day, work load etc. It's important for me that you understand gardening and how to use hand-tools as I'm just too busy to teach and you must be able to work on your own some of the time. But MOST important is that you have a love of dogs. I am a Rhodesian Ridgeback breeder. I will have a litter of puppies that will be born end of September. Caring for puppies and the mommy is an intense 8-week project. This 8-week puppy-project is a paid project.

    I have 1,800 English language books and lots of music from original American blues 'n jazz, Irish traditional, Portuguese Fado, Opera, Classical. I love, LOVE cooking (and eating) and when the weather is warm (and COVID allows) have a pop-up restaurant in my home; serving authentic Mexican, Soul Food from the South and American Cowboy food and bake Irish Soda bread and such things.

    For the most part I eat what is in season and follow the UNESCO awarded Mediterranean Diet. The Mediterranean diet involves a set of skills, knowledge, rituals, and traditions concerning crops, harvesting, fishing, animal husbandry, conservation, processing, cooking, and particularly the sharing and consumption of food. Eating together is the foundation of the cultural identity and continuity of communities throughout the Mediterranean basin. It is a moment of social exchange and communication, an affirmation and renewal of family, group or community identity. I read a lot, love music, hiking, a good conversation and embrace a merciless sense of humour.

    I mostly need general physical labour on the land and care for the kennel. My body is just too sore to do the work I need to do to maintain the gardens, food business and dogs...(ahhhh the Circle Of Life). I want to carve out of this stony Algarve soil some vegetable & flower gardens using creative water retention solutions and where we can native species.

    Projects on the land, depending on the season, include: care and pruning of trees, harvesting (and preserving) Almonds, Figs and Olives, landscaping, WEEDING, planting, irrigation system development, maintenance of vegetable and flower gardens; pruning, transplanting trees & shrubs, mulching, organising compost piles,, patch-paint house, help smoke chillies and garlic and solar harvested sea-salt smoked seasonings

    Projects on buildings include: painting, carpentry, repairs, housekeeping and organizing sheds, storage etc. Dog walking and help with the newborn litter of puppies at the end of September 2022.

    I'm located by car, (15 mins from beaches - 25 minutes from Faro airport) and close to trains and buses for trips further afield. On Saturdays I can drop you off in town or the beach, you can use UBER to take you anywhere.

    Although I'm in the countryside I'm only 4.5km down the hill, from the Loule town center. Sometimes I can give you a lift into Loule and help with planning things to do and see on your days off.
    We have three friendly Rhodesian Ridgeback dogs 'Bob' (ALA "Keanu Reeves") 'Sierra Mariposa' AKA " Hoover" (yes as in the Hoover vacuum cleaner of the same name for obvious reasons) and their daughter 'Madame Olena' (born March 2022) They love to go on long walks in the surrounding country side. We also have 1-cat and 4-laying hens.

    I offer a privately located self-contained Ridgeback-Caravan-Cottage nestled under an old fig tree. and has Fibre Internet, UKTV, Aircon/heating, the shower-W/C is in a separate building 1m from the back door.
    It's a wee bit away from the main house. It has a 1.8m high fenced space and enjoys complete privacy.

    I offer 3-meals a day in exchange for 5-hours a day of work, five days per week circa 08h30-13h30 (Monday-Friday)..OR so.... nothing too exact we're human after all. On weekdays I provide food for your own breakfast, lunch & supper. Weekends you're off-work and free to go explore the area also on weekends you cover your own own meals.

    The ONE exception to this work schedule is when the puppies are born; for the following 8-weeks, until they go to their 'Forever-Homes' at 2-months of age, puppy and mommy care is required 7-8 hours per day 6-days a week. This new-born and puppy care is 'paid' work. Being here over the Christmas holiday period is a requirement.

    IMPORTANT: We require that you (1) bring proof of your own health insurance, Vaccination
    (2) give us a contact number of your next relatives in case of any emergencies (3) a copy of your photo ID, Passport.

    Helpers must have a deep an abiding GSOH (Good Sense Of Humour) as we do! And we do not gather together by the campfire and sing Kumbaya,

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There are SOOO many things to do and see and experience here in The Algarve of Portugal. Although we live 'rural' we live within 5km of one of the beautiful cultural centres of the Algarve; the ancient market town of Loule!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I MOSTLY need help from folks with strong backs and who know how to use 'hand' tools. I just can't (getting a wee bit old 'n sore) do the work anymore that is needed to work both the land, care for dogs, clean the house, and care for newborn puppies.

    WORK PROJECTS:chip Olive/Almond wood for the smokers, (we have a chipper), gather wild produce (Carob pods, Figs, Olives, Persimmons etc.,) and either smoke & dry them or process them another way such as 'canning' in jars or making jams, marmalade, chutneys, salsas), transplant shrubs (stony ground), organize and re-pack storage rooms/cupboards, general deep clean of house, PLUS refurbishing the original St. Catarina terra cotta floor tiles in the house, plaster, paint house and build a whelping kennel.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We offer our beautiful (beloved) self-contained Caravan -Cottage, it sits about 50-meters distance from the house, (very private) under an old Fig tree. The Caravan-Cottage has: Fibre Optic internet, UKTV, Aircon/heating, W/C, shower, HOB, oven, fridge/freezer, black-out curtains, mosquito screens, many reading lights, closets, 2-skylights with mosquito screens, a sliding door separates the built-in double bed from the rest of the 7-meter long touring caravan. We built and 4mx4m insulated room with sliding doors and attached it to the caravan. There is a BBQ and outside table + chairs for alfresco dining. You cook your own breakfast and supper in the caravan. We provide ingredients for your breakfast & suppers: Monday-Friday. Lunches for the most part will be eaten with us. Weekends are your own time to travel and to make/buy your own meals in the caravan as you like.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    More about the area later; it's the Algarve after all. There are many many kilometers of walks/bike rides from our door. We can drop you off at the Loule town center or at the train station, easy peasy. A taxi from to/from town to our door is between 6-8EUR each way. Loule is market town and there is daily baked bread, fresh fish, local meat, veggie & fruit Farmers Market, and a much bigger one each Saturday. Spend a day at the beach ...why not? Perhaps take a boat tour or a weekend donkey trek or rent a car for a weekend and see the Alentejo in the North? We have only had two couples do a (private) exchange here last year for a couple of weeks. One couple left as they wanted the city lights of Lisbon, fair enough it is a bit 'slow' here. The other, 2-friends from Vermont, went on their pre-planned travels after extending their time with us an additional week. It was a very good experience for all of us.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Yes, perhaps one dog

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 637221541549