Off-grid living in Yukon, northern Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 362 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.12.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Are you willing to experience "THE North"? Then keep reading!
    I live in an off-grid cabin, by a 12km-long lake and 2,000m mountains all around, about 30 minutes from the City of Whitehorse in Yukon. I share my life with 14 sled dogs, about 20+ wolfs which we can hear howling at night once in a while on the other side of the lake, about a million fish that you can see jumping in the evening in summer time, a few bears and the odd moose or lynx coming by.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you want to learn about off grid lifestyle and/or tiny house living in the North, you will like the experience.

    You will learn about lifestyle in Yukon, which is a bit different than everywhere else ;p

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I'm looking for somebody to help me take care of the dogs (feeding and scooping) and help around the yard (splitting frozen dog meat, maintaining the water hole in the lake in the winter time and other tasks).

    Since I'm working during the day, you would be mostly working by yourself. You would be a good fit here if you are independent, and have the energy and determination required to live off grid (water comes from the lake, firewood comes from around the lake too - you cut your own). Life is much harder off grid, and definitely requires muscles. It is very quiet here, we have no neighbors so a good fit is someone appreciating the wilderness and not scared of being alone.

    Obviously, you need to like dogs!! I'm quite particular about my dogs and I feel they deserve the best care and I expect my helpers to be VERY good and attentive to the dogs ;) If interested, I can teach you how to run dogs and you can potentially help me train them on occasion.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You have your own cabin (see picture), 12ft by 14ft with a king bed, wood stove and propane stove for cooking, as well as an outside fire-pit and outhouse. Pet friendly. The cabin is equipped with a solar panel system, but in the winter the amount of power produced is limited (good for charging cell phones but not much more than that).

    More electricity and Internet is available at my cabin. Showers are available in town. I'm going to town several times a week and can bring you back and forth if you don't have a car. The cabin is accessible by 4x4 most of the year except at the end of the winter, where it is only accessible by snowmobile for a month or 2 each year.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I have a canoe and a pair of snowshoes that you can borrow to go paddling/fishing/hiking from the lake and a few very willing dogs you can take with you hiking all around. There are lots of mountains around to go and explore, right from the cabin.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    1-2 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 633561522517