Help in an Animal Rescue Centre in a small central village on the island of Andros, (one of the Cyclades Islands), Greece.

Country

Griechenland

Bisher 756 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.11.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I run an animal rescue centre mainly for abandoned animals, including dogs, cats, donkeys, a mule and a horse. I am an English lady who has been living on the Cycladic island of Andros for the past 40 years. I am an artist and an author and have a extensive knowledge of Greek culture that I would like to share.

    I live on the beautiful island of Andros. My house is situated in the middle of a large property, in the mountain village of Arnas, in the center of the island. It is a half hour drive from Batsi on one side, and a half hour drive from Hora on the other side. The ferry will arrive in the town of Gavrion and it is a 40 minute drive. The taxi will cost you 35 Euros. It is also possible to rent a car or motorbike, you must be 23 years or older and hold an international drivers license if your permanent address is outside of Europe (Australia, Canada, USA, etc. please check before you arrive and wish to rent!)

    The house is surrounded by woodland and beautiful mountain scenery. Ideal for walking and exploring.
    The donkeys, horse and mule roam free. The dogs have a large, extensive place where they can roam free and play, the cats are separated from the dogs and also have a huge area where they can roam with no traffic.

    In addition to short-term volunteers, I am also looking for a single person or a couple who would like to volunteer on a long term basis. This person or couple would have their own comfortable apartment with heating, cooking facilities, and a private bathroom.

    Lastly, I think it is important to make anyone who is planning to come here aware of the fact that the dogs sleep inside the house, although in the day time they are allowed to come in and out as they wish. I want to make this clear to perspective volunteers so that there is no misconception that the dogs are living in kennels. This is because it is essential to keep the dogs quiet at night. If they were sleeping in kennels we would all, and everyone in the surrounding area, be kept awake by barking.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is a chance to explore a beautiful Greek island while looking after some wonderful animals.
    I cant stress enough how much the volunteer should have a genuine love of animals.
    I am in the centre of the island surrounded by mountainous scenery, a perfect place for nature lovers and walkers. A volunteer will also learn about looking after animals, their behavior and the interaction which takes place between them.
    The island is famous for its network of walking pathways and its greenery, but also its beautiful beaches. This is a great chance for a true Greek experience, to learn about Greek culture and the way of life.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am looking for somebody who can help me with a small self supporting animal sanctuary. This would involve looking after the animals and to maintain their living quarters and outside area as well as the stables for the equines. The idea is to help animals rescued off the streets or in animals that were in someway in trouble.

    Ideal for someone who loves animals, dogs, cats, donkeys, a mule and a horse Somebody who enjoys being surrounded by nature in a rural environment. An essential characteristic of a volunteer should be their love of animals as they will be living in proximity with the dogs and cats, although each volunteer or volunteers have their own space, bedrooms etc.

    The nearest towns are around a thirty five minute drive away so for volunteers who want to explore, the best options would be to hire a car or a moped which are both cheap except in high season. It is also worth noting that you will require an international license to rent a vehicle on the island. Otherwise there is a taxi service to get you back and forth from the port of Gavrion to Arnas where I live. The cost for this is 35e.

    Someone who can help me look after a large property, which includes gardening, house maintenance, feeding and looking after the animals and keeping the place generally clean and tidy.

    Tasks can really depend on the weather: what is needed at the time.

    In addition to short-term volunteers, I am also looking for a single person or a couple who would like to volunteer on a longer term basis. Volunteers would have their own accommodation. shared bathroom and a shared kitchen. We often cook communally and this is a vegetarian household and of course vegans are especially welcome !

    I am almost always around and here to help you out with the animals.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and Greek

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The accommodation varies from an apartment with two separate bedrooms (shared bathroom), and another large bedroom with shared bathroom. They are all kept clean and are generally attractive and comfortable. The views are beautiful.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Arni is in the middle of the island between Batsi, which is on the west coast and Hora, which is on the east coast. Both of these little towns provide opportunities to shop, enjoy a meal out or visit a beach, but you will need a car to get around. The owner can help the volunteer book motorbike hire or order a taxi. Some kind of transport is advisable as the shops are a 35 minute drive away and the nearest tavernas a 25 minute drive.

    -------------------------
    Workawayers would be asked to respect the following:

    1. A limited consumption of alcohol on the property.

    2. Smoking only outside the accommodation.

    3. Absolutely no use of drugs.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.8)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (4.9)























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 385911555569