Gardening, house-work and some DIY help in our home, on the land of 1001 Chateaux near Sarlat, France



Bisher 288 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

  • Beschreibung


    Hi :)

    Our Workaway home is a self-contained one bedroom apartment with kitchen in a barn conversion, which is next door to us. We have a good mobile phone reception (important in the French countryside), a good 4G download speed of up to 50mbps. You can have unlimited WIFI, swim in the pool when our guests are not using it, we have bikes you can use (or a car for over 25yrs) and we can drop you off & pick you up from the nearby 'must see' tourist attractions such as Beynac, Domme, La Roque Gageac, Sarlat & Castlenaud. We are looking for people who are socially comfortable and know how to get things done. We are easy going people ourselves and for the right person or couple we can give lots of experiences, car use if you are a careful and confident driver to visit the local sites of interest, but in return we do expect total honesty and commitment.

    We would prefer two non smoking friends to help us for a minimum of 4 weeks during June, July and August. At other times a single person, two friends or a couple may be possible if you have the skills we have highlighted for a 2 week minimum stay.

    We really love to share our home with travellers from outside of Europe and especially South America, as France is such a new experience for them it is wonderful to be part of :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    What we can offer to Workawayers by way of a 'Cultural Exchange' -

    The beautiful and historical Perigord Noir, Sarlat, Domme, Beynac, Roque Gageac, Castlenaud, Lascaux cave paintings, Font de Gaume cave etc etc.
    Road cycling with Hamish to discover the area by bike, bring your own cleats if you are keen and cycle past the castles on the Tour de France route :)
    Speak and learn the English Language.
    Speak and learn conversational French Language.
    Learn some DIY based skills.
    Learn animal care - dogs, cat, chickens & horse.
    Learn how in life attention to detail is important :) Our motto is - We own it. We clean it. We care. :)

    We are situated in the 'Golden Triangle' of Sarlat, Domme and Beynac. We have two bikes for your use and you really can cycle to the main attractions of the Dordogne from our home. We are only 2kms from the cycle path into Sarlat (15-20 minutes cycle ride to the centre of town). You can also cycle to the villages of Beynac, Castlenaud, La Roque Gageac and Domme, the Dordogne River for swimming, canoeing & fishing, the Chateaux of Beynac, Castlenaud, Fayrac, Marqueyssac and Milandes, all these are within 15-30 minutes cycle ride of our house (5-10 minute car journey). We are flexible and easy, so we can also drop you off with the bikes for instance and then you can have an easy cycle ride home. Sarlat has a train station and connects with trains from Toulouse, Paris, Bordeaux and Bergerac. We can collect you from Sarlat or Souillac train stations or within a 30 minute drive of our home for longer stay volunteers.

    A little further away are the famous Lascaux cave paintings, also Font de Gaume, Pech Merle, Roque St Christoph, Troglodyte homes, Les Eyzies National Museum of Prehistory and so much more, all of which are 20-30 minutes away by car. There are daily tours, either full day or half days, of the surrounding Bastides, castles and caves in a mini bus which leave Sarlat centre from April until October, costs pp start at 30 Euro.

    Here you will learn about living in rural France and the French people; we can speak in French or English if you wish to learn a language whilst you are here. I have always been self employed so can offer advice on this and working in the tourism industry. We are surrounded by Prehistory, cave art, beautiful architecture from the Middle Ages, Bastide towns, street artists, culture, Artisan Food Farming, hospitality, organic vineyards and so much more..........all new experiences and things to learn and we can show you.

    A bit about ourselves -

    We are a British couple in our early 50's who have been working in the hospitality industry in France for 19 years, the first 6 years we ran our own restaurant with rooms in Beynac (chef and waiter) and now we have 2 holiday homes which provides us with an income to be able to live in this wonderful area.

    We are enjoying life to the full, Hamish does both road cycling for pleasure both with the local club and guests and also off-road Trials riding where he regularly competes in France and Spain. We have a spare road bike so if you need a pedal buddy look no further. I have a lovely Spanish Mare who I am training in dressage with the help of a wonderful English Grand Prix dressage rider and I hope to be able to compete this summer. If these are your interests also, you are welcome to join us. We both love to ski in the nearby Pyrenees mountains whenever we can, but of course, that is winter time only.

  • Arbeit


    Help is needed mainly with -
    Pool cleaning

    Secondary help could be -
    Animal care, if you like animals ;) (we have 7 chickens, 2 dogs, 1 cat and a lovely horse)
    Basic DIY and decorating, depending on the time of the year.

    We usually have a building or maintenance job on the go as we live in a large stone property that we are renovating with 2 hectares of garden to look after also, and sometimes we just need gardening help, such as lawn mowing and weeding, housework help etc. But, depending on the time of the year my husband and I would like some help from experienced odd jobbers, builders, decorators and pool cleaners. Attention to detail is important, we like to do a nice job, rather than do a bodge job :)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Self contained one bedroom apartment
    2 single beds (can be together)
    Ensuite shower room
    Small kitchen (fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster, two ring electric hob, microwave)
    Two comfy chairs and a dining/work table
    BBQ and two outside chairs with sun shade.

    Your accommodation is in a self-contained one bedroom barn conversion, with two single beds which can be put together, so ideal for a couple or two friends, a shower room, a kitchenette (sink, fridge, freezer, two ring hob, small oven/grill, toaster, kettle etc. :) with seating area & WIFI. We have unlimited fast WIFI and a good mobile phone reception.

    We have found through our experience last summer with the Workawayers who stayed with us that 15 hours per week per person works well in exchange for the accommodation, couple of dinners plus drinks, WIFI and bike use (and car if applicable). Or if a single person stays then we suggest 20 hours per week for the accommodation only as you will have sole use of the apartment. Included in the accommodation only is various tea and coffee breaks or a glass of wine or beer on the warm summer evenings. The majority of your food needs you will prepare and buy yourself, but occasionally we will have meals together such as an English Roast dinner or homemade Lasagne. We can collect you Sarlat, Souillac and Le Buisson train stations or within a 30 minute drive. For any additional hours we can arrange payment also.

    We have outside seating area and a BBQ, so we mainly eat outside during the summer months under the Lime tree whilst enjoying a cool beer or glass of wine. :)

    During July and August it is nice to go and eat out at a local restaurant or at a French Farmers Dinner Market once a week.

    If we have no guests staying in the holiday rental home next door you may use the pool, but if the house is rented out then the pool is not available for our use.

    As we live next door to one of our holiday rental homes, it is important that we respect our guests privacy and do not disturb them.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If it is hot over the summer months, it is best to do any outside gardening early in the morning (so people who are unable to get out of bed before 11am please don't contact me ;) and then spend the rest of the day by the river swimming or canoeing, or visit the area or the Artisan Markets, as there is so much to do and see here. We have bikes for you to use to see the area. We can drop you off at the nearby villages, castles and river for you to cycle home. Sarlat, Beynac, La Roque Gageac , Castelnaud and the Dordogne River are all 5 minutes by car, so easily biking. For serious people we may also have a car for your use.

    There is a nice little bar with a good restaurant/snacks a 10 minute walk from the house which also does great takeaway pizzas. They have live music and other shows (there is a French quiz night for those wishing to improve language skills;) most evenings in July and August, which are very good and after a day cleaning we usually head there for dinner at least once a week if not twice ;) and you will be welcome to join us as our guest on these nights or take a break from us and do your own thing. :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Flexible - 15 hours per week per person in exchange for the one bedroom apartment for two people. Or 20 hours per week if a single person. We also provide two evening meals per week, plus teas, coffee and beer/wine breaks :) Or as arranged.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 628832144424