Experience rural living with English hosts near Matera, Basilicata, southern Italy,

  • Bisher 48 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 6 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We moved to Basilicata, Southern Italy from England seven years ago. As an artist and a retired professional scientist turned sculptor after retirement, we both wanted to be somewhere beautiful that we loved and chose this spot because we had spent the previous 20 years travelling backwards and forwards to different regions in Italy running art and cultural holidays. We loved this region of Basilicata. On our small holding of 14 acres we have around 200 olive and 100 mixed fruit and nut trees as well as traditional oak woodland that we aim to look after with sustainable and organic methods. This has enabled us to deepen our local knowledge and learn how to care for and use the abundance of produce our land provides.

    Our small holding looks over the valley to the small local hilltop town, which has a medieval castle and dates back to pre Roman times. There are bars, shops etc. We are 30 mins drive from Matera to which lifts can be arranged. There are also local bus services.
    You can get to us from Rome or Naples, either by Flexibus or by train. The Trenitalia service stops at a station about 15 minutes drive away. You can also get to us from Bari airport or Bari railway station to Matera using shuttle bus or by the Appulo Lucana rail service. We can meet you at Matera.

    Our aim is to look after our woodland and fruit and olive trees and harvest as much as we can to make use of the abundance of produce; olives, figs, cherries, almonds, apricots, wild asparagus and fungi, and anything we can grow in our orto (vegetable patch). We also have chickens, dogs and cats.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our travellers will learn how we manage the land and trees ecologically and sustainably in order to protect from soil erosion, and enable healthy trees that give a good harvest. Whenever you come you will see and practise the husbandry needed that month as well as learn about the full annual cycle needed to look after the land and trees.

    If you are here during olive harvest you will be able to learn how olives are processed into oil at the local frantoio.

    We have also developed a deep understanding of the local culture and regional cuisine which we will share.

    Our small holding is in a peaceful and private elevated position with spectacular views and most of our evenings are spent at home, on the terrace enjoying the panorama Our visitors can enjoy the various walks in the area or find a quiet spot and just relax enjoying the ambience. The swimming pool is available from May to September.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for two people for 1-2 weeks at a time who are interested in maintaining land, fruit trees and woodland and are happy to undertake physical tasks like land maintenance, help in the vegetable garden, clearing undergrowth in traditional oak woodland, and olive picking in the Autumn.

    We have 200 olive trees that need care throughout the year from pruning in January, hanging the insect traps after flowering in May, preparing the trees for harvesting and then harvesting for olive oil in autumn.

    Other than helping with the olive trees, throughout the year there is always some help required in the woodland to enable the wild asparagus and fungi to flourish. Help is also required with the other trees and produce our vegetable garden. The help required varies with the seasons, for example, in the hotter months we work early to avoid the heat but while harvesting olives we work fewer longer days so all olives are processed within 3 days of picking. Depending on the month you might be harvesting wild asparagus, cherries, figs or apricots and vegetables, and helping to preserve them through drying, making jams or local preserves.

    We also have chickens that require daily care and an active wormery to provide natural compost and fertiliser. We are also involved in community projects to protect and maintain the local forest which borders our land.

    The help required during time with us will form part of our conversations before you visit.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your accommodation, a few metres away from the main house, is in a small independent building. Here you will have a bedroom with either a double or two single beds and your own shower room. There is a veranda and kitchen facilities.
    When not in use by workaways, we use part of the building as an Art studio.

    Simple breakfasts are of fruit, bread and preserves made from our own produce. Main meals will be with us around our family table prepared using the region’s specialities and local and seasonal produce.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our small holding is in a rural area about 4km across the valley from the local hilltop town with spectacular views. We are 430m above sea level on the hillside accessed by tarmac roads and some unmade roads. Please be aware that the hillside is woodland and agricultural land and we recommend that you bring suitable footware.
    We have our local town which is a typical southern Italian old town with narrow streets, cafes and a castle to explore.

    30 minutes drive away is Matera which was European City of Culture in 2019. It is entrenched in history and you can loose yourself in the narrow winding streets of the Sassi and feel you are going back in time. Matera was used in the James Bond film “No time to die” and for other films.

    Although our small holding is away from any main road, we can always support people with access to the local town, Matera and public transport. We have parking if you arrive by car or can collect from Matera railway station.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have ample parking space. As we are 430 metres above sea level and the access road is steep in parts, it is more suitable for the smaller camper vans.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5hours/day. 5 days/week.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 622162427475

Feedback (3)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.3)

Kommunikation: (4.7)