Help with Alaskan huskies and learn about dog sledding near Alta, Norway

  • Norwegen
  • Bisher 701 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 20.01.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    No availability at the moment!

    Hi!

    We are Ella and Gerald, and we live about 80km outside of Alta in Finnmark, Northern Norway, together with our 12 sled dogs and one cat. We want to invite a nice dog lover into our family! We have our dog team of alaskan huskies for fun, we are not training to compete in races, nor are we running a tourist organisation. Despite this, our dogs still need to be properly trained and looked after.

    We live in a very rural part of Norway, meaning there are none of the entertainments of city life close by. There are not many people either, it is very quiet and slow in nature life. We are surrounded by mountains and forests and fjords and here you have incredible outdoors opportunities, but not much in the way of "civilisation". 15 minutes away is a doctor, supermarket, and gas station. One hour away is Alta, where there is a mall, cinema, restaurants etc.

    As for us, we speak English at home as we are not Norwegian (Ella is from Turkey/London but speaks Norwegian, and Gerald is Dutch and learning Norwegian). We both work full time, Gerald as a chef and Ella at a care home while studying psychology. We are pretty relaxed people, who like the relationship with workawayers to feel like a friend or roommate.

    We should probably mention that we are meat and mostly dairy free. We do occasionally eat fish but we won't buy or prepare meals based around meat, and want someone whose eating habits align with our own.

    WHAT WE ARE LOOKING FOR-

    One workawayer, no couples

    Must be over 25- this is based on personal preference. We prefer to share our home with someone closer in age and maturity to ourselves

    Minimum 2 months - there is a level of trust that needs to be established before we can leave a person to work independently with our dogs. Stays less than this are not worth the investment of time and energy for us.

    Must have a valid driving license and have been driving in daily life.

    Someone who has some experience with nature, with the outdoors. You must be the sort of person who would rather be outside, if you easily give in to the sofa and are not motivated or excited to be outside, you will easily become depressed here. Having some experience living in the countryside, in a small place, is also useful, as is being mentally tough.

    Experience around dogs is obviously a plus but not a must, everything can be taught but not everyone is capable of being strict and tough with the dogs when it is necessary to do so. This is important and a safety issue so please take into consideration if this is a skill you believe yourself capable of. If you see yourself capable only being cuddly and fuzzy with the dogs, then this is probably not for you.

    When writing please include
    - dates and how long you would like to stay.
    - about yourself, your age, a bit about who you are.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Apart from the obvious that you will learn a lot about dog mushing and sled dogs, the people who would benefit most from coming here are definitely nature lovers, those who want to spend time outdoors, away from city life.
    We live in the middle of a never ending supply of nature, hiking and outdoor experiences. Here you can spend your days playing with dogs and exploring Norwegian arctic nature.

    We have equipment like snow shoes and skis (foot size depending) that you can borrow to get out and explore :) We are surrounded by beaches, mountains, forests and even have a glacier close-by. We'd love to go on trips with you to show you the local area, and of course we have northern lights and midnight sun where we are.

    Obviously culturally we are not Norwegian and our experience of this is from the point of view of outsiders, but I speak Norwegian and am happy to get you going on the basics.

    I (Ella) love to make creative vegan meals, even more so when there are other people around, and am always happy to share tips and tricks with people,
    In the winter I knit, and will definitely try to make you get involved.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    A quick outline of the typical tasks -
    Feeding/ caring for the dogs daily
    Joining with training
    General maintenance around the yard in the form of light building and repair, weed control
    Snow work
    Some driving work will be required from time to time
    General chores inside the house

    The work is physical and outside, in all weather conditions. Over winter it's on average -15c and you will acclimatise, but you will be outside with our dogs in these conditions.
    Some days there will be very little to do, and some days much more. We plan as much as we can and try to map out the week ahead on Sundays, but a lot of the work is hard to plan ahead for as we are at the mercy of the weather and suddenly changing work schedules. For that flexibility on your part is appreciated! In terms of your daily tasks, we give a fair amount of independence and and self control over your work tasks (outside of the dogs). We appreciate initiative!

    In autumn we train the dogs on an ATV and in winter a sled. We'll teach you how to drive, and how to look after a team.

    The other big thing is clearing snow. From January-ish moving snow is an almost daily job. We live in a bit of a snow hole, and have had 9metres of snow in one winter. Hopefully that excites rather than terrifies you. We mostly use a snow blower and ATV, and a bit of shovelling.
    We by no means expect anyone to do this alone!

    As we are inviting you in to be a part of our family, you will also be expected to be involved in the chores that are a regular part of life, cleaning, dishes etc.

    We do want to mention the extremes of the place we live so you can consider if it's right for you before writing.
    Winter here is serious, and it is only magnified by living isolated and far away from people. It can be lonely; you must know how to be comfortable in your own company.
    In the winter, beginning at the end of November, we have no sun. We have a few hours of light between 10 - 2pm, but there is a lot of darkness. Naturally, this can be depressing if one is not used to it. Therefore we stress the importance of being someone who is mentally tough and motivated to be outside, and not someone who will easily cave to the temptations of a warm sofa. You should be outside, for your own activity and not just for working, a couple of hours a day. The sun comes gradually back at the end of January. Of course, this period is also magical and a very unique thing to experience!

    We will always be encouraging and understanding, but if you struggle with your moods and motivation to begin with, this will not be the right place for you. Therefore you MUST be honest with yourself.

    If you are between a size S-M in clothing and 40/41 in shoes, we can provide all your outer winter clothing and footwear. If you are larger/ much smaller you must provide your own. You must always have your own base layers.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Norwegian: Fließend
    Türkisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A bedroom in our house, our home is your home! We'll do our best to make you feel comfortable and make sure you have what you need. - There will be a lot of animal hair -

    We provide 3 meals a day and accommodation. Whatever you want to eat/ drink outside of this you must buy yourself.

    As I mentioned, we eat fish, but not meat or dairy, and we will not buy these items for workawayers.
    We grab our own food during the day whenever we feel hungry and eat together in the evenings.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have a car which you can use within reason, but there is no public transport

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 616596678698

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder

Feedback


Help with daily life and gardening in the city of Fredrikstad, Norway
Alaskan husky, race kennel in the northern part of Norway