Come and help with animals and building projects on our farm in Brittany, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 117 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.06.2021

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    UPDATE: as France has still a long way to go to get COVID under control, we are unable to accept helpers until the Government lifts all of the restrictions currently in place. Of course, we all hope this will be sooner rather than later, so get in touch to talk about future plans.

    Spring is coming!

    We’re Mo and Stuart and we’re looking for volunteers to help us on our small farm with maintenance, building work and animal care.
    You’ll need to be really comfortable with animals as we have two dogs and four cats who are part of the family and we also have a small herd of 48 alpacas.
    English is our first language – I’m Scottish and Stuart is English – and I speak good French.
    When restrictions are not in place, we do have visitors to the farm to meet the alpacas and I also work with the fibre from the alpacas, transforming it by spinning and felting.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We're always interested in meeting new people and would enjoy sharing what we've discovered here with you.

    We’ve lived in this lovely part of France for many years, and we have a view of life here that's a bit different.

    We enjoy cooking and trying new food experiences.

    I’m also a teacher of English as a second language, so if you want to improve your English, we're happy to give you a full English-language immersion experience.

    I spin the fleece from our alpacas and make felt too - if you are interested, you could join in.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Anything from helping look after the alpacas to pointing the walls of old stone buildings!

    Depending on the time of year, there is always something to be done, whether it’s maintaining grassland and fencing, working on building projects or sorting fleeces for spinning. Of course, the alpacas need feeding and looking after all year round!

    Between us we have a range of skills we're happy to share, so enthusiastic and willing helping hands are what we need. The work isn’t hard, but it is physical and sensible working clothes are essential.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You’ll have your own comfortable bedroom and bathroom which we'd ask you to keep clean and tidy yourself.

    Of course, we will make sure you’re well-fed! We have a varied diet but we are not able to cater for 'restricted' diets, such as vegetarian or gluten-free. If you’d like to share your own cooking skills and food culture with us, that would be great.

    Helpers live with us as part of the family and share dishwashing duties with us too!

    The farm is a non-smoking site for health and safety reasons and we can not accept couples, children or pets.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live on the edge of a village in central Brittany. This is a peaceful place with a small wood and a stream running through the land. There are lots of birds here and it’s a rare day that has no birdsong, even in winter.
    The weather here is generally mild in winter with more rain than snow. Summer is usually very pleasantly warm.
    Our village has a bar, a bakery, a small grocery store, a brasserie and a hotel/restaurant, all within a few minutes’ walk.
    Our nearest town is about four kilometres away, with a cinema, swimming pool and equestrian centre, as well as a good range of shops.
    TGV trains run from Rennes and Saint Brieuc to Paris and beyond and there are good bus links between towns in Brittany, so it’s pretty easy to get around.
    Outdoors, there's a lot to do in the area, particularly cycling and walking – bike trails and walking routes are well-represented and we also have a bike you could borrow.
    There are water activities at the Lac de Guerlédan, about 20 minutes’ drive from here.
    The beautiful north Breton coast is about 30 minutes away by road, with its beaches and walking trails.
    Mobile phone coverage is reasonable and you can use our WiFi while you're here.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Around 25 hours in a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 614346475741