Help out on a small farm for a truly Aussie experience near Colac, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 79 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.02.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    451

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello, my name is Robyn, and I'm 30 years old. I have done a lot of travelling and have volunteered through workaway in Nepal, Kenya, Zimbabwe and Malawi. I set up this account while I was living on my parents farm but I have recently moved to Melbourne. My mum and dad (Corrina and Greg) live on a 14-acre farm. They have sheep and cows and are hoping to expand. My mum Corrina will be communicating with you if you send us a message.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a family of Aussies who have been in Australia for many generations. We are happy to teach you about our culture and expose you to as many Australian experiences as possible. You will get an understanding of rural life in Australia, and there are also towns, cities and tourist destinations in the vicinity for you to explore.

    I have traveled extensively, and I lived in Canada for more than two years. I love meeting people from different cultures and hope that you can bring a little of your culture into our lives as well as us giving you a memorable experience during your time in Australia.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have found that there is much to do on the farm and have many opportunities for an extra set of willing hands. We will take any assistance. However, we would love it if you had skills, knowledge or experience to share with us (anything from farming to gardening to preserving). Things are always changing, and the tasks are often seasonal. There is usually a wide range so you can pick whatever interests you. Tasks include but are not limited to:
    - feeding out hay (with a wheelbarrow)
    - bottling the milk and cleaning buckets and bottles
    - general gardening, mulching, weeding, watering
    - picking fruits and vegetables and preserving them
    - collecting, chopping and stacking wood
    - building fences and maintaining them
    - preparing an area for when we get chickens
    - small building projects such as repairing sheds, installing guttering and down pipes
    - helping with our bees and honey business, painting hives
    - cooking and cleaning in the house
    - making cheese, butter and ice-cream

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our home is an old farmhouse and is certainly not 5 star accommodation, but it is comfortable and you will have your own private bedroom with a double bed. Everything is provided so there is no need to bring anything apart from personal belongings. We also have unlimited high speed internet.

    We grow most of the fruit and vegies we eat so food varies depending on the season or what has been preserved. We have milk, cream, yogurt and butter from our cows. We have lamb and beef from the animals on our property. We prepare a meal and eat together for lunch and dinner daily (breakfast you can help yourself to).

    We rely solely on rain water for our drinking water and are currently running short of water, showers must be kept short and water usage kept to a minimum.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our farm is located about 2 hours west of Melbourne. It is easy to take the train from Warrnambool, Geelong or Melbourne, and we can pick you up from the Colac train station. We are located about an hour from the famous Great Ocean Road, which features many activities and stunning scenery. Depending on the season, we may be able to take you for a day trip or you can even go for a few days by yourself if you have the time. Our farm is only about 15 minutes drive from Colac, a town with a population of 11,000 and has cafes, restaurants and a wide variety of shops.

    We cannot accommodate smokers on the farm.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (maximum stay is 3 weeks)

My family with some of our workawayers
This will usually be the room workawayers stay in
The shared bathroom
Our oldest animal, Mirren, she's 5 years old and our main milking cow
Some of our fields (it is very dry in summer but much greener in winter)
Part of our garden
We have baby sheep born every few months
My brother with our farm dog








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 611315987941