1 / 5

Keep me company, help and make a vegetable garden using natural techniques in Nîmes, France

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 44 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 18 März 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    Important note: I do not speak English and workawayers must be fluent in French or Spanish. My daughter Sabrina helps me maintaining my profile in English and replies to communications, see her listing for reference: #385983996226.

    I am Ana, a grandmother of 4 girls and 9 grandchildren. I was born in Spain during the civil war and arrived in France when I was 9 after having crossed the Pyrenees with my mother clandestinely for three days and two nights without eating or drinking to meet my father who was evacuated to France by the red cross after being wounded in a battle (he was a political refugee). This experience made me a strong-willed person. When I arrived in France, from Barcelona to Collet-de-Dèze in the Cevennes, I found refuge in French literature and immediately loved this beautiful language. I studied nursing and specialized in childcare. I practiced for 5 years before stopping to raise my 4 daughters and support my husband in his busy job as medical biologist. I have always welcomed many foreigners at home (my daughters' exchange partners or as a host family from towns twinned with Nimes) and I have travelled a lot myself. Now, being old, I travel through the stories of my children, grandchildren, and the people I meet. I love art in general, in particular music, painting and contemporary art.

    Coming from a family of bricklayers, I have always been interested in construction and dared to take the audacious challenge in 1980 to buy a 100yo mansion that was almost in ruins, which I renovated with my father and my three brothers. Along with my daughters' education, this house has been the big project of my life. The house is beautiful and was built with high quality materials: stonework, mosaics, solid oak framing and flooring, etc. It was built in 1880 by an architect for himself and he lived there all his life, alone with his maid. It is ideally located: downtown and near the beautiful gardens "De la Fontaine". You can go nearly anywhere in Nimes from here either on foot, by bike or public transport.

    Since my husband's death in 2017, my daughters have been helping me to maintain the house, but they are quite busy, and the house is starting to fall into disrepair. I need help to restore it and to develop the garden.

    Although I am from the Boomer generation, I have always been very sensitive to ecology and try to reduce my carbon footprint as much as possible, i.e. I sort my waste, buy only what is necessary, hate waste...

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am fluent in French and Spanish and would be happy to help in both languages. I do not speak English (my daughter wrote this text in English for me).
    My Daughter Sabrina regularly comes and visit me (she currently lives on the French Riviera, see WorkAway reference #385983996226): she's got friends in Nîmes that she will introduce to you if you're interested.

  • Arbeit


    Help with everyday shopping and keep me company through reading and short walks.
    Basic restoration and maintenance of the house: repainting walls, changing light bulbs, helping with tidying and sorting, clearing dead leaves, collecting ripe fruit (persimmons, figs, pears, grapes). Rehabilitating part of a garden to make a vegetable garden using natural techniques, ideally permaculture.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I'm fluent in Spanish and French and my daughters who help me to maintain the house speak English fluently. I will help you on both improving your French and Spanish. My daughters are musician and can help you play the piano and learn music theory.

  • Unterkunft


    You will be independent in the fully equipped studio (kitchenette, bathroom, washing machine) located in the mezzanine overlooking a beautiful patio. You can park a car. A bike will be at your disposal.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Nîmes is a beautiful roman city famous for its illustrious monuments and gardens:
    - La Maison Carrée (literally "the square house")
    - The arenas
    - the temple of Diana
    - Les Jardins de la Fontaine (literally "The gardens of the Fountain")
    - Le Pont du Gard (20km far)
    It is a particularly lively town during the Pentecost and the grape harvest Ferias.
    It has several universities and an Olympic swimming pool (Nemausa).

    The Mediterranean Sea is not far, you can reach Le Grau-du-roi or La-Grande-Motte in 50min and get there either by train or car.
    The mountain lovers will enjoy walking in the Cevennes.
    Lovers of authenticity and old stones will appreciate the charm of the Camargue and the beautiful village of Aigues-Mortes.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    The house has a fibre internet connection, and the studio is equipped with a desk from which you can work.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dogs are not allowed inside. Cats can stay in the studio but cannot go in the other part of the house (2 of my daughters are allergic to cat's hair).

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 598994661894

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder


Co-housing community in the small village of La Broque, France
Join our sustainable community project and help with gardening and DIY in Belflou, France