Creating a forest garden and renovating an old house in Strömsfors near Uddebo, Sweden



Bisher 146 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung



    We don t consider unpersonal messages. If you contact us, please tell us what attracts you specifically in this project, and how our projekt/lifestyle matches your personality. for example.

    about the house and surroundings:
    It is a beautiful house build in 1908. It was part of an old industrial village, which is still reflected in the remaining presence of beautiful classical villa's in the surroundings. Nowadays Strömsfors is a tiny village (population under 50), divided by the stream Assman (really!) which has three hydropowerplants here. All the industry is gone, the people are gone, shops and schools shut down, lots of houses are empty or just used as summerhouses. But since some years tides have turned! Now there are several collectives and lots of people moving in rapidly!

    The nearby village Uddebo (3 km) is very lively and has an organic bakery/pizzeria, concerts, joga classes etc. Around Strömsfors and Uddebo there is lots of forest, but there are also swimming places, a public owned sauna, etc. It is good to have a car to get around, but we have bicycles.

    The house i bought here stole my heart, the oldness, the memory of an old industry neighborhood is charming. But so much work, and so much space! I live here with my Swedish love, Kalle (i'm Belgian) and 2 cats, and currently even 7 kittens!! (born 23 juni 2021)

    What will we do?
    Concrete is the house in need of life and helping hands. All kind of refreshing works are needed. Everything concerning the house will be done with natural materials, when possible.
    Further I am educating myself in permaculture and forest gardening. The whole garden will be transformed into an edible landscape, providing the maximum biodiversity possible. Most of the help needed will be contributing to this forest garden. volunteers can help planting, building greenhouse etc. At the same time there are lots of learning opportunities, think growing, mushroom growing, vegan cooking, building skills etc.

    Other projects:
    besides all the work on the house and garden, we also try to change the world, and really need help doing this! :)
    one nice projekt is a TEMPEH produktion i m starting with a friend, another projekt is a field test with Sweet Lupin growing. besides all around jobs, we need some graphic skills here! Are you good with for exemple adobe indesign of just a great painter, maybe you can help us out!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    To do: there s lot of nice people living around here, in summer there s a lot of swimming, sauna, hiking, camping, it is nice cycling here (you can borrow a bicycle) but it mostly depends on what you like to do, we ll find something! There s several places with workawayers around, so it could also be possible to organise activities for all the volunteers.

  • Arbeit


    FOR THE MOMENT THE ONLY THING WE NEED HELP WITH IS PAINTING THE HOUSE :) We will take turns working on the ground and the skylift. The skylift costs a lot per day. So we want to use it as much as possible.

    Important that you are independent and can work independently.

    creating a forest garden, permaculture: growing perennial vegetables, bushes and trees! Digging upp stones and makings paths, building greenhouses, ... thinking about the design, helping out planning, whatever you are good at or whatever you want to get better at!
    This spring i want to have some indoors stuff done as well. Are you good with plumbing/elektricity/construction/insulation/scaping of paint/... we really need you!
    work in the house: renovating windows, putting clay on the walls, etc
    with the projekts: all around tasks, depending on your capabilities (and knowledge of Swedish language)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    There is one extra apartment in the house with sleeping room, with living room and own kitchen.

    About food: We are vegan, and don't feel comfortable with meet in the house. This is very important!

    We provide the same food we eat ourselves: modest, but good healthy vegan and balanced food. And of course we eat looooots of home made tempeh! (it s an obsession!)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    How to get here:

    we are about 40 km south of Borås. There is a busstop in Strömsfors (bus between Tranemo and Svenljunga).

    By train:
    The closest trainstation is Limmared, connected to both Göteborg, Malmö and Stockholm. From the trainstation someone will have to pick you up.

    By bus:
    The regional public transport will take you all the way to strömsfors from Göteborg, Borås or anywhere else in Västra Götaland. You can take a bus from Göteborg Nils Ericson terminal all the way to Strömsfors, it will take about 2 hours.

    By air:
    The closest airport is Landvetter (Göteborg).
    From the airport you can either travel in to Göteborg central and from there take a bus to Strömsfors.

    public transport planner for sweden:

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    minimum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week or more

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 591262977887