aktualisiert  

Experience rural daily life with a journalist in Alaska, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 115 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 17.01.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I live on a rural property under the mountains and by two rivers. I have two jobs: I run a teen court program that serves as an alternative to the justice system for minor crimes committed by youth, and I am the editor of a newspaper. I live in a small neighborhood filled with wonderful people. There are no amenities or services within the neighborhood, or within an hour of the neighborhood. There are unlimited beautiful places to enjoy nature right out the door here.

    I have a well on the property for water, but there is no plumbing, so everything is jugs and buckets. My potty is an outhouse.

    I am often in and out for work, so my ideal Workawayer would either be a team (couple, best friends, etc), or someone who enjoys alone time. You must have your own transportation.

    Early in the summer, I would love help building a garden and a groovy outdoor bath scenario, in addition to general maintenance and upkeep projects. There is also a constant need for removal of dead vegetation around the property in order to reduce the severity of fire risk. I also have several small carpentry projects I would love help with including birdhouses (real small!) and possibly a woodshed.

    Fall - especially September- is the most beautiful time here. Projects abound, but the thing I have the most need for is general support. I am typically very busy with work, and it is also generally time consuming to live on a distant, rural property. Household help, cooking, and handling any extra unexpected logistical problems would be incredibly helpful!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is paradise for backcountry skiing, whitewater boating, sea kayaking, hiking, backpacking, etc. Our culture here in my immediate neighborhood is the outdoors. That is what I/we have to share. I'm also super happy to help with English practice. I also could teach people a lot about foraging and preparing wild foods, and about building soil. This is Ahtna country, if anyone was interested in learning more about Ahtna culture or history I would be happy to facilitate. I am not Ahtna myself.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Here are a few of the specific projects I am interested in help with- obviously no one could do all of this, just ideas.

    -Construction of multiple bird boxes for swallows, owls, chickadees, juncos (I have the plans)
    -Assisting with finish work in a small outbuilding
    -Moving/removal of excess dead wood in accordance with "Firewise" recommendations
    -Cooking/household chores
    -Wild harvesting and wild crafting
    -Removing deadfall from a pretty area to make a nicer trail, other trail maintenance
    -Murals/3D art in the trees
    -Random errands
    -Garden bed construction, woodshed construction
    -Light carpentry inside a small structure
    -General "dealing" that seems to eat up lots of time on rural properties!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Always excited for an opportunity to speak and listen to Spanish, and extremely happy to help with English. I am a writer, and glad to help improve English writing skills too.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    For summer visitors, there are a variety of places to camp. During the cooler months (October through May), I have a small outbuilding with a wood stove. The shower is super simple- just a pump in a bucket of warm water- but works and is indoors.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is paradise for walking by the river, skiing, hiking in the mountains, visiting glaciers, etc.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I have great wifi. Phone service works for Verizon but not AT&T, and I'm not sure about other carriers. I do have a landline. I have electricity, too. Workspace is small, however. Not really space to set up big monitors or things like that.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There's plenty of room to park a campervan.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    I do accept dogs, note that there are some hazards like a nearby highway and other neighborhood dogs. My dog chases cats so I don't think that's a good fit. Goats and things would also be vulnerable to neighborhood dogs, so I guess pretty much just dogs as far as pets.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    10-20 hours/week depending on the project.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 589561769386

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Help with the house and garden in Colorado, USA
Help with gardening and cleaning with one of the most popular hosts in Florida, USA