Help with a small permaculture project in West Cork, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 97 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi!
    This small project is in West Cork, Ireland near the source of the river Lee.
    I live in a little cabin in a field where I grow vegetables, keep chickens and grow fruit trees. Its a small site but there are lots of different things to do here and plenty healthy veg to eat.

    I am a self-employed permaculture designer and this is my home where I try out ideas. I also do orchard care mostly apple pruning in the summer and winter so don't have as much time as I would like to devote to my home garden and would like help with it. Having volunteers can also be a source of motivation for me to organise and do work that I may have already grown accustomed to.

    It would be an interesting place for anyone interested in permaculture, gardening, poultry and preserving food. Its important for me that you are good at sharing space, conscientious and relatively decent at cooking as we'll be sharing some meals : )

    It's sometimes best if there are two people volunteering here together at the same time. I'll be with you to show you how to do every task at the start - but sometimes will have to leave to tend to those other commitments, including over night at times.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Depending on how long you stay you could learn:
    - how to operate a low maintenance poultry tractor system
    - sheet mulching
    - hot compost making
    - scything
    - french drain building
    - building skills
    - vegetable gardening skills
    - other permaculture related skills/info

    This is a Gaeltacht area. It could suit someone studying the Irish language, but English will work here too. I also speak French and Spanish relatively well. If you are interested I can teach you quite a bit about permaculture design and practice and you can learn some Irish too if you like.

    I'm always interested in learning new games, having people to play sports or juggle with. I want to start teaching an informal swing dancing class with a friend which we will alternate between our homes. Double points if you are into Lindyhop or Charleston : )

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The main activities that I'd want help with here are (depending on the season):
    - French drain building
    - sowing and planting vegetables
    - weeding and hoeing
    - making hot compost
    - scything
    - sheet mulching of the nursery and garden
    - watering
    - cooking & baking
    - cleaning
    - painting
    - Looking after chickens. This involves moving the electric fencing & mobile chicken house, cleaning it out and collecting eggs.
    - fruit tree care
    - harvesting vegetables (summer-autumn)
    - preserving vegetables - making kimchi and chutney

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Irish: Fließend
    German: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italian: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There is a caravan for volunteers. It has two sleeping areas at either end and cooking facilities in the middle. I'm also re-building a yurt which will be for volunteers when its done - during the summer there is camping for shorter term volunteering or for gatherings.

    The place is basic in some ways - compost toilet, limited electrical power - especially in the winter, but its also wild and beautiful. It's off grid and has (limited) power from a small solar PV system - virtually no power in the depths of winter unless its been sunny :) There's a mains charging point nearby though at my neighbours pump house.

    Spring water on tap in the cabin. There are two rooms to the cabin - my bedroom and the living room-kitchen.

    Extra summer accommodation is camping (until the yurt is finished anyway). I have a spare tent for you and roll mats - if you have your own tent even better! Ideally you'll bring a sleeping bag, but we can sort that too if not. I have spare extra bedding too.

    Meals are from the garden and eggs from the chickens, supplemented with a mix of bought organic and non-organic food from town. Vegans/vegetarians welcome but its important to accept that I also eat eggs, dairy products and meat, and occasionally kill animals here for food.

    There is a gas shower we can use and compost toilets.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Beautiful scenery and nature. Great swimming places. I'm near Gugán Barra which is a famous beauty spot with hikers and pilgrims.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    A smaller size van could potentially work.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 588268997214