Restoring historic home in the heart of the Yarra Valley, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 49 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.12.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    108

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our previous careers include teaching, educational leadership, psychology and writing. My husband and I have recently restored our historic house and garden and now offer a traditional, boutique bed and breakfast experience. We have grown-up offspring and small grandchildren. Our property is a local landmark and we have opened our garden to the public previously and plan to do this again. Our property was quite derelict when we bought it nearly 5 years ago and hopefully you will be a part of its redemption journey.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    With a background in education including teaching English in Cambodia, we would be happy to nurture English language skills. We live in the beautiful Yarra Valley close to town, wineries and the world famous Healesville Sanctuary. We are on the edge of national park with plenty of bush walking opportunities. Abundant bird life like king parrots, butcher birds and kookaburras are at home in the garden and kangaroos are easily spotted. We are involved in the tourism industry and can introduce Workawayers to other tourism colleagues.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for help with general maintenance and finishing touches following restoration of a century old home and large garden. Our wish list includes hedge pruning, sealing gaps between floorboards, painting and tending herbs and vegetables and repairing our driveway. We are open to other projects if you have other skills. For example, we are always keen to add to our photo library or improve our website and we are planning to begin an Instagram account for our business. Maybe your input will get us started.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We operate a traditional bed and breakfast so Workawayers, ideally a couple, would have their own private bedroom with queen bed and large bathroom with heating, cooling, tv and WiFi. We are a no smoking property. Depending on availability, we may be able to provide separate self-contained accommodation with bedroom, living space, bathroom and kitchenette. If you are in the main house, you are welcome to share the living spaces and you would have full access to the kitchen and laundry. You will have access to the swimming pool, barbecue and extensive gardens. We will provide breakfast supplies, prepare lunch for you on work days and share dinner with you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The Yarra Valley is famous for wine, dining, walking trails, scenery, art and wildlife. If you are a keen photographer, there will be plenty of sights that you will want to capture. We would welcome any photos that you wish to take of our garden and property. It is possible to reach our place by public transport, train and bus. A car would be desirable if you want to explore further afield. We are on the edge of forest and national park one hour away from snowfields and one hour from Melbourne. I am happy to offer transport on occasion. We would be pleased to host you on a winery tour.
    My husband and I both have considerable experience mentoring young people and teaching. My husband is an excellent cook. We love to travel and learn about other cultures and have spent some time volunteering in Cambodia in a rural village. We are interested in history, architecture, wine and garden design. We have a hands-on approach to running our accommodation business. We love hosting and are accustomed to sharing our home.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Bird's eye view
King parrots in the garden
Apartment kitchen
The gazebo
Guest bedroom with private bathroom
Bedroom view towards mountains
Self-contained apartment
Make yourself at home in the kitchen
Bush walks close by
Take the plunge

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 584739453965