1 / 5
aktualisiert  

Help us with rainforest regeneration, gardening and small building projects in Upper Coopers Creek, Australia

  • Bisher 35 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 13 Juli 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    John, Sandra, Xavier and Xero (the dog) live on 5 acres in the Byron Bay Hinterland. We also have an adult daughter who lives closer to Byron Bay. We are fortunate to have a deep swimming hole and a beautiful strip of rainforest along a permanent creek that is home to platypus and turtles. Our valley was once farmed, but now many of our neighbours are, like us, engaged in the regeneration of the rainforest—which mostly means battling invasive weeds. We've learnt so much about the plants and wildlife of this region since we bought here six years ago, and are learning more each day. By profession we are architects and have a design studio catering for diverse clients. We designed our house and finished it two years ago, winning architecture awards for interior design and sustainability. Much of it, including a separate cabin, we built ourselves. The shift to a more physical life after desk-bound careers in academia has been amazing.
    Since joining Workaway in early 2023, we have been able to complete lots of projects, including building a bathroom for the cabin, making raised beds and planting our first vegetable garden, and setting up a separate apartment for guests and Workawayers with its own kitchen, bathroom and entrance. We still have lots of interesting projects to do alongside taking care of the forest. In 2024 we plan to demolish an old banana shed, erect a new carport, build a chicken coop and expand the orchard—currently we have more lemons, passionfruit, and bananas than we can eat, but it's hard to live on dessert alone. There is always work to do in the garden.
    For pleasure, Xavier plays piano and composes, Sandra makes art, and we all love a camp fire in winter. Like most country folk, we tend to get up early (Xavier catches the school bus just after 7am) and go to bed early.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our valley is bordered by national parks and its very beautiful. It is a 5 minute drive to the tourist destination of Minyon Falls and there are many other waterfalls and walks near by. You will learn about rainforest ecology firsthand and experience Australian animals and birds in the wild. You may also see pythons and frogs and glowworms, and will definitely see spiders. You will participate in the ongoing process of caring for the land, including replanting the river banks after the floods of 2022. You will meet other people who are engaged in forest regeneration.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for energetic people who can work with us in the garden and forest, and on small DIY build projects. We use a range of simple power tools such as drills and saws, a brush cutter and ride-on mower. It would be an advantage if you had experience in basic tool use, but we are also willing to teach you. (Most of our skills have been gained from YouTube, trial and error, and patient collaborators). There are also lots of unskilled jobs that benefit from a bit of stamina and strength, but mostly just require fearlessness in the face of leeches and mud. If you like the great outdoors, then you're a good match. While there is always maintenance to do, we do most of our ambitious projects between April and October when it is dryer and cooler that it is during the Wet Season. Its a rainforest, which means it rains a lot.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Japanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own cabin. The cabin has been set up for holiday accommodation, and we host Workawayers there when it is not booked. It has a queen size bed, a kitchenette and a bathroom with shower and composting toilet. The cabin has a wall of glass doors onto a deck that overlooks the creek. It is 70 metres from the house. Most people eat with us and hang out in our living room. As we are a long way from restaurants we are used to cooking all our meals and we will cook for you--unless you wish to cook. We can cater for allergies and don't eat red meat ourselves. We have reliable internet in the house, but not in the cabin.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We think the best place to swim in the world is in our waterhole, but should you wish to swim in the sea the closest beach is at Brunswick Heads, 35 minutes away. Having your own transport will make access to so many of Byron Bay's sights easier, since there is no public transport. Some people hitch, but we don't recommend it. Our situation is best for people with a car, but we can pick you up and drop you off after your stay in either Lismore, Mullumbimby or Byron.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We are connected to Starlink which is mostly fast and reliable and with unlimited data.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 576691531867

Feedback (5)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Friendly family in centrally located Balmain, NSW, Australia
Outdoor / Indoor help and DIY in beautiful Olinda, Victoria, Australia