Help with property maintenance, gardening and around the house in rainforest, near Brisbane, Australia



Bisher 223 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  • Beschreibung


    My partner and I live in the rainforest of Mt Glorious (680 m above sea level) in the D'Aguilar National Park 35 km northwest of Brisbane city centre.

    We have two separate properties in Mt Glorious village - each property is 8000 square meters. One of the properties has a cafe and other buildings. The other property has a large timber home and a few outbuildings.

    My partner works on the mountain maintaining the properties and runs the cafe on weekends. I run my own business (sign language interpreter and teacher) and go to and from the city about 4 times/week. I also study part time and run a part of my property as an online rental.

    I am happy to host travellers who wish to improve their English as that is one of my areas of interest (my University study is in English & Linguistics). We are both in our 50/60's. My partner speaks fluent German and I speak sedikit sedikit Bahasa Indonesian and , of course, am fluent in Auslan (Australian Sign Language).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Although this mountain rainforest environment is only 35 mins from Brisbane, it is a unique and different life from the bustling busy city. The guests will imbibe the quiet beauty of the natural environment and the serenity of the mountain. They can learn about the particular sub-tropical rainforest flora and fauna, investigate the peculiarities of mountain living, take timeout to walk in the rainforest or participate in some yoga and meditation sessions. They can spend time at the lookouts reflecting on their travels and updating their journals or lounge in a hammock and read books or watch dvd's after a good few hours work. Meals and conversations with the hosts will occur about three times/week but the rest of the time the self contained accommodation (stocked with food) means that guests can keep their own meal times.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We require some assistance in property maintenance, gardening and house work.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We have a variety of accommodation. One property has a large self contained rustic timber rainforest cabin. The other property has the shed with a kitchen, lounge, tv, sleeping loft, verandah, fireplace but the bathroom isn't finished so it means a short walk to the main house to use the bathroom. All linen is supplied. Wifi is available at some points.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In their spare time Workaway guests can go on rainforest walks and enjoy the peace and tranquility of being in a rainforest on top of a mountain.

    There are local rock pools to swim which are lovely after a good rain. We can organise for guests to get regular lifts up and down the mountain to go into the city if needed.

    We require guests who have respect for the natural environment and a love of the native birds, wildlife and flora of the rainforest.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 574552795995