Help us make our old traditional family cottage into somewhere special using eco-construction ideas in North Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 237 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.11.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    529

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *Accepting volunteers but not for quarantine*

    We have been working on our old family home - a 200 year old traditional cottage that we hope to make into somewhere special. Think thick stone walls and sheep fields all around the house.

    About the help : We are mainly looking for help in the garden, where we have an organic vegetable garden and lots of tidying and clearing to do. We also have a garden project at a nearby house with a large, interesting garden where we are looking for help with digging, weeding, clearing land, renovating paths, land drainage etc. There are always logs to saw & chop and trees to trim or cut down. Working through problems together, to find the best solution, is the best part of a project!
    We can be flexible with the schedule, depending on what suits you, but usually the bulk of the help is from Monday-Friday.

    About us: Harri - I have spent a lot of time over the past few years working in permaculture and eco construction and have been using these ideas on the house. I speak fluent English, Spanish and Welsh and also understand French. I've been involved in many Workaway style projects and also Couchsurfing. My mother (Nicki) lives nearby with the big interesting garden. She speaks English, Welsh and French and a little Spanish. Here there are lots of tasks to do in the garden, plus preparing firewood. There are a few indoor projects for rainy days but be prepared to help outside unless it's pouring with rain!

    This time, we are looking for someone, or a couple, to stay at Nicki's house for a few weeks and help Harri, maybe one day per week.
    About the house: The house is warm, has comfortable beds, hot water, showers, clothes washing facilities, wifi, and a fully equipped kitchen. There may be some internal building projects going on in February but the house will still be comfortable (I hope!).
    There are no shops nearby but there is a bus service from the garden gate, a few times per day. This goes to Bangor or Bethesda. 20 minutes walk away there's a bus every 15 minutes. it's about 20 minutes to get to Bangor, the nearest 'city' which has plenty of shops.

    Harri's house has a dry toilet outside while we replace the septic tank. There is a small shop and Post Office in that village and one pub. Buses pass from a bus-stop 10 minutes walking from the house, and it's about 30 minutes to get to Bangor.

    Wales has strict travel and socialising restrictions at the moment but there are beautiful mountain walks from both houses. We also have a piece of woodland nearby and Nicki has a lovely friendly new dog who will love anyone willing to take her for walks or play with her in the fields.

    Volunteer criteria - Please don't apply unless you meet at least 2 out of 3 of the following filters
    - Some experience in either construction, gardening or other workaway type projects
    - Speak English well
    - 25 years or older

    Feel free to get in touch, cheers!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Although our mother tongue is English, we are also Welsh speakers who can teach you about the language and the Welsh culture, along with our knowledge of British traditional dancing and music - which you're welcome to join in with! We hope that you learn a lot about gardening, music, building etc and we hope that you can teach us a thing or two as well!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have many exciting ideas about what we would like to do with the houses and land, and we'd love some other people to come and share the projects with us! We'd like to stress that this can quite heavy and dirty, and you should be prepared for rock moving, hole digging, concreting, furniture moving, and anything else that might pop up. We're always glad to be able to bounce ideas off our volunteers, often with wonderfully different suggestions coming up, which we can follow We ask for around 5 hours help a day, 5 days a week but this has to be flexible to fit around the task and the weather. In return you'll get a free bed and meals, and a chance to get to know the local area. Short stays work well for us - 1-2 weeks is fine!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Welsh: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    With Welsh as our second language, we are keen to help others understand the language and learn some basic useful phrases

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The house itself has hot water, showers, clothes washing facilities, wifi, and a fully equipped kitchen. We have a double bedroom available.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a small shop in our village and there is one pub. Buses pass from a bus-stop 10 minutes walking from the house, so it's easy enough to get to Bangor, the nearest 'city' which has plenty of shops and a train station. Near to where we live you can wander in the mountains for days, climb in abandoned quarries and even check out the beautiful beaches on Anglesey (weather & travel restrictions dependent).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Any dog would need to be well trained, friendly and completely safe with sheep as we are surrounded by them!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    We aim at maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. See above

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.7)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (4.7)
















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 573177214678