Help to renovate a charming mansion dating from 1680 near the beach in the small village of Stavenisse, Netherlands



Bisher 199 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    Steffie (my girlfriend) and me lived in the centre of Amsterdam until recently, but felt like a new adventure, so bought a mansion in Zeeland last year and are renovating it since.
    This beautiful, characteristic mansion dates from 1680 and is located 1 minute from the harbour and 10 minutes from the beach of Stavenisse on the main street (across the supermarket).
    Stavenisse is a small, tranquil, peaceful village on the island of Tholen and part of the Oosterschelde National Park.

    Our financial position forced Steffie to pick up a job again (3 days a week) so mostly I am working alone now on the mansion and would really like someone to help me. The house used to be an inn and we are trying to get it back into shape since it has been neglected for years.

    Depending on what season you are visiting us we have a private room, or a shared big (new) apartment with a private loft.
    There is a large cosy livingroom with open kitchen, a super nice veranda and all necesities for living comfortably (like WiFi ;) ).

    We have a table football, pooltable, dartboard, Xbox, lots of games, etc to keep you from being bored on rainy days.
    but since Zeeland enjoys the most hours of sunlight in The Neterlands, you can enjoy bicycling, kayaking, swiming, hiking and much more!

    We have a nice cat called 'Loesje'. Also we have 4 chickens, so fresh eggs everyday!

    Oh and if you are fond of oysters and/or mussels: there are millions within reach from the shore for you to catch and eat!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn to do renovation
    Live in a Dutch community
    Enjoy the watersports
    Catch & eat as many oysters and mussels as you want
    We`ll teach you to cook typically Dutch meals
    Living far from the bustling Dutch cities with peace of mind

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    There are plenty of jobs which have to be done, so would be helpfull if you could help with at least one of the following:
    - Wall plastering
    - Painting
    - Roof renovation
    - Inserting new floor
    - Tiling
    - Building wooden structures
    - Assisting us with general renovation duties.
    - Etc.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Private room within mansion

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Steffie works in Rotterdam so can take you to the big city if needed and also trips to Breda and Amsterdam are made weekly by Willem, so easy to join the ride!
    You can also visit many other characteristic Zeeland villages around here. Which all have their own charm and high-lights.

    We have a bicycle for you and there is public transport (bus) to Bergen op Zoom train station.
    There are many nice walks/bicycle routes in the Oosterschelde national park

    The Oosterschelde has an open connection to the sea allows tides to have free reign in Oosterschelde National Park. This creates a dynamic natural environment where salt and fresh water attract a very diverse flora and fauna. Whole tracts of land disappear under water at high tide, only to become dry again at low tide. The sand banks and plates are packed with food, attracting thousands of birds, in addition to the seals that come here for sunbathing.

    It has also a remarkable underwater world. Stavenisse has one of Europe`s top dive sites. The largest mammals in this area are the seals and harbor porpoises. The latter is the most common cetacean along the Dutch coast. There are several diving schools making it possible to examine the sea life of the Oosterschelde up close. If you take such a diving trip, you will be amazed at the rich underwater world with oysters, crabs, lobsters, clams, flatfish, shrimp and many other kinds of fish and shellfish.
    If you prefer to stay on land, the rare plants and mosses along the Oosterschelde are worth noting. Characteristic for the area are sea lavender, sea aster and glasswort. Don't forget to bring a pair of binoculars to admire the hundreds of species of birds, including oystercatchers, wigeon, eagles and gulls.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 571196771695