Help us out with our homestead and regenerative farm in Ginestar, Spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 468 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    08.12.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We're a family of four living in a small stone casita on an 8 acre piece of land in Catalonia. Our aim is to establish a self-sufficient homestead while farming almonds and olives using agroforestry, regenerative agriculture and permaculture practices. We're interested in growing food for ourselves and others whilst building soil and healing the land. We're trying to live as simply and sustainably as we can and unlearn some of our 'civilised' habits.

    We're a sociable bunch and enjoy conversation, good food/drink and musical happenings.

    Before we came to settle here five years ago we 'unschooled' our boys and spent a year driving around the Mediterranean in a big Hymer motorhome.

    I (Selina) have a particular interest and some knowledge in herbal medicine and aim to grow an extensive herb garden in the years to come.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We're happy to share all our learning up to date on permaculture and regenerative agriculture practices as well as any other knowledge we've gained by travelling and living in the Catalunyan countryside. Helpers will get a feel for 'life on the land' and how regenerative agriculture and permaculture can be part of the solution for a changing climate. Our children speak Catalan and the adults get by with cobbled together Spanish and Catalan. We enjoy discussions, communal meals and occasional music-making.

    I (Selina) have started herbalism studies and may be able to offer some beginner knowledge for interested folks

    This area of Catalonia offers much for lovers of the outdoors and our immediate surroundings are rural and very beautiful. There are opportunities for walking, cycling and kayaking amongst other things and there is lots of wildlife to enjoy. The river Ebro is famous for fishing.

    The major cities of Reus, Tarragona, Tortosa and Barcelona are close enough to visit. There are beaches half an hour's drive away but these can be difficult to access without independent transport.

    Our farm has panoramic mountain views and is in a quiet undisturbed spot, making it the perfect place to focus on painting, writing and yoga or any other pursuit that requires a certain amount of peace and beauty!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We like all kinds of helpers and we need all kinds of different help! From moving sheep fencing to dog walking, shovelling manure to dry stone wall repair and everything in between.

    We have vegetable gardens, young fruit trees, olive trees, almond trees, 4 sheep, 6 chickens, 1 dog, 4 goats and two sons. All of this demands our time and attention and we appreciate help with all of it, although tasks do change throughout the seasons.

    We're essentially a regenerative homestead and there are many unglamorous daily tasks that we look for assistance with as well as occasional building projects and our main harvests in Mid-August/Sept and the end of October to the middle of November.

    The work is generally pretty physical, so we appreciate volunteers who are not scared to get stuck in and can accept that our set-up is not one that offers much luxury! Particular skills/knowledge that we could use at the moment

    - Gardening knowledge and experience. Weeding, planting, pruning, putting in irrigation, a vigilance for spotting problems with the plants

    - Tree maintenence. Pruning using hand saws, secateurs, or loppers. Sometimes chainsaw and pole chainsaw. Confidence on ladders

    - Dry stone walling skills or experience of having built/rebuilt dry stone wall under the instruction of someone else
    - Timber frame construction (doesn't have to be anything fancy but some experience with knowing how to put up simple structures)

    - Farm animal care. Helping with goat milking, feeding, watering, giving love but mainly understanding the importance of rotational/mob grazing of ruminants, and fully embracing the essential work of moving animal fences regularly (see Polyface farm and Joel Salatin)

    - General land management; mowing, strimming etc

    From mid-August we need any willing and able people for almond harvesting - No special skills or experience are required for this, but a sense of enthusiasm and fun is helpful as it is hot and sweaty work!

    We're happy to hear from any potential volunteers whatever the level of skill and experience but an interest in and enthusiam for the kind of work we're doing here is essential. A good positive attitude and an ability to get on with tasks without supervision together with a sense of humour, a love of outdoor life and a genuine willingness to help restore our land and all the injured places of the world.

    Sometimes if we get good volunteers we sneak off for a couple of days to leave the farm in their capable hands (with the support of a previous volunteer who lives nearby to oversee things).


    If this sounds like your kind of fun then get in touch!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Catalan: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation during the spring, summer and autumn months is under canvas. We have various tents of varying sizes so an usually accomodate most travelling permutations. For those camping in spring through to autumn, it should be noted that our toilet is an outdoor compost loo and washing facilities are fairly rudimentary but perfectly adequate. Volunteers may have use of our outdoor kitchen but note that we also use it occasionally. We have internet but other than that, life is pretty primitive here :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is so much to do within a couple of hour's drive! From the Ebro Delta, to the bustle of Barcelona, this region is full of potential. Our nearest village has a couple of basic shops and several bars and is a couple of kilometres away. Our nearest towns, Mora d'ebre and Mora la nova are approximately 20 mins away as is our nearest railway station. There are two buses a day through the village to the town. You can reach a number of beaches within 30 mins by car.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have plenty of space for caravans and campervans.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)



















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 568678116559