Help us build our straw-bale, low-tech home and join our sustainable way of living in Schijndel, Netherlands

Country

Niederlande

Bisher 287 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.11.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    221

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This is our sustainable way of living on our 5000m2 property in the south of Holland. We (Peter and Marleen with our 3 children Daaf (14), Emke (11) and Steef (9) ) are building a straw bale house, while living in a temporary house besides the building place. Peter is a arborist, but now only works on the house. We have a large vegetable garden. And furthermore two cats lives here and a bunch of chickens. Piano, guitar, accordion, drum kit, bikes, campfire available!

    We are building a straw bale house low cost, low tech, using natural and used materials. Low cost, because we don't want to have a mortgage, en low tech because we want to make things ourselves. A good example of such techniques is our wood splitter, logging wheels etc. During the building process I have used no crane.

    The straw bales are placed in the walls, and plastered outside. In spring its time to work on the terrain: pruning willows, felling trees and weeding. When the temperatures raise the work at the interior starts: sanding and oiling roundwood, plastering inner walls, fixing the root cellar, building a pizza oven, etc.. We are very interested in helpers that are experienced in or well motivated to learn working with natural building materials.

    We expect from volunteers that they stay connected to our family life: feel free to explore Holland but if you join a meal help cooking or do the washing up or so. You can literally do whatever you want as long as you stay aligned.

    Because of fire risk smoking is not allowed on our terrain.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will learn working with natural building materials, understand the benefits of living low cost / low tech. We make decisions with sociocraty (every vote counts). If the school agrees, you might visit the democratic school (students are responsible for their own learning process) where Marleen works. If not; our children will tell you all about :-)

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The help we can use is plastering walls with clay, oiling interior round wood posts, making root cellar ceiling and walls. The terrain can have some attention; a few trees didn't survive the extreme drought last summer, weed control, maintaining the vegetable garden. Mowing, wood splitting (with Ingmars Klyv), etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Dutch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Caravan besides the house on a 1000m3 meadow. It is a small (max 3 persons) caravan, 40 years old but dry, clean, looks as new and cosy. If sharing the caravan is unwanted, the attic where the straw bales are stored in (2/3 empty) is sleepable and we are preparing the kitchen to sleep there during colder periods.

    We are not vegan/vegetarian: we eat eggs, milk, cheese and butter. We don't eat meat except our own chicken, a few times a year...

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live near Schijndel, between Eindhoven and 's Hertogenbosch. Bus 2/h to 's Hertogenbosch (20min) with main train station (Amsterdam 1h, Utrecht 0.5h). 's Hertogenbosch has a nice old town center with pubs / restaurants / museums. Eindhoven is famous as Design City. We can bring you there.
    200 meters north of our home is a large (well, for the Dutch...) forest. The environment is nice to bike: forest, meadows, villages with windmills and lots of mais of course. We have bikes and a bike trip map.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)














Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 567483652632