Photography / Film Making / Youth work + a Floofy Irish Doodle dog in Wellington, NZ



Bisher 406 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 12 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    We run a charitable trust that helps to create the Visual Poets Society. We work with youth to develop their visual storytelling skills so that they can use them to change their world. We teach a program. It is half photography and half creative wellbeing. Half of the year we teach locally in the Wellington region and online and the other half we are on the road finding our visual poets and supporting youth in other regions.

    These are the project we currently have on the go.

    The Trust Gardens -
    Our trust is run out of our property in Upper Hutt. Currently, the gardens are a hot mess and we need to do some landscaping to get them back up to scratch. If you know how to build raised beds and love working outdoors this is a job for you.

    Organizer Extraordinaire-
    Someone to help organize and put order to things. So if you love the Konmarie method and the idea of getting rid of clutter and creating order out of chaos gets your blood warming and your hands rubbing together then we could use your brilliance.

    Social Media Guru -
    Someone to help us with our social media strategy

    Photographer or videographer? - Great we always need extra help here too. Recording content and are our sort of person.

    Grant Writer-
    Someone to help us to write grants

    Curriculum development: Are you a teacher? Sweet we could use the help writing up our work.

    We have a lovely room in our home but we are looking for someone specific. We are looking for an ambivert/introvert who is happy with their own company but can also communicate and socialize a bit (we are an ambivert and an introvert so highly extroverted people overwhelm us).
    You need to have a good sense of humour, and be compassionate. A strong work ethic and a desire to leave the world better than when you found it.

    We have lots of books mostly of a Buddhist /Taoist, or non-fiction photography and film making and self-development variety.

    Part of your chores will be to keep the house clean and tidy too.
    Please note our internet is limited and not suitable for any freelance heavy internetwork you may be doing. But if you have a Spark Internet on your phone you get about 2 bars here in your window in your room- Vodaphone needs to walk up the driveway.

    There are miles and miles of walking trails around us and we have a beautiful home and section on a river with an organic garden.

    What we do:
    We run a charitable Trust.
    Our focus is on youth mental health through developing self-compassion and creative resilience.
    We run a program which is an award winning wellness program wrapped inside a photography course.
    We also run an internationally award-winning photography studio that underwrites the work of the trust.

    You have your own private bedroom with heater and several very cute animals to keep you company (an Irishdoodle puppy named Gritty, two cats - siamese and Maine coon, a ridiculously cute angora rabbit, and 5 chooks.)

    The bus line is at the top of the drive and you are allowed to double up on workdays to take full days off to explore the region.

    The People:
    Mandi is a Master Photographer, Film Director and the Founder Director of the Trust. Wicked sense of humour and life experiences that range from serving as a Nurse in the U.S. Navy, to organic blueberry farming, and 10 years following her creative heart. American by birth, Lived in Japan for 3 years, and New Zealand for 19.

    Craig is a Business analyst and does all of the behind the scenes work for the trust. Even more wicked sense of humour. He is from Rhodesia, via South Africa and has lived in NZ for 20 years.

    Please note that we are friendly introverts. If you are super over the top bubbly soul and constantly need companionship, we might not be the best choice. But if you are an ambivert, an introvert, or an extrovert who is skilled finding ways to keep your extroverted awesomeness entertained then we would be a great fit.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will have an opportunity to learn what it looks like to be involved with a social enterprise startup. If interested you can pick the brain of Mandi Lynn New Zealands Creative Photographer of the Year 2017 and get involved with her many creative projects.
    If you enjoy kids you could get an opportunity to assist project.

  • Arbeit


    We need help keeping the house in order while we run the Charitable Trust + Photography Studio.
    Daily chores involve:
    - Feeding the Animals
    - Tidying the studio and house (vacuum, dust, put props away)
    - Helping with Meal Preparation
    We also need project specific help which just depends on what is happening creatively at the time and what your unique skill sets are.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Comfy double bed with a cat to keep you company. Warm blankets and heater and your own room in a beautiful home by a river in a quiet semi rural neighbourhood with public transport at the top of the driveway.

    You will help with meal preparation and we can cater for vegans but we are omnivores. You will get three meals a day for your support plus a lovely private space to sleep.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are several LOTR film sites near by and beautiful hiking.
    Wellington is a 40 minute train ride away and Upper Hutt has all of the essentials that you need, a great library, and arts centre.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (but you can double up for days off and the work is easy)

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 564143524593